Southern Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Very good. We liked this recipe alot. I have made this twice now and the second time i used chrizzo instead of ham and left out the chili pepper flakes.. Made it alot more spicy but everone at the potluck loved it. Bowl was empty when i took it home. We like it made both ways equally as well. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I recently discovered that I like collard greens. Now I don't have to go to my favorite restaraunt to get them. These were wonderful. My husband loves them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
this was the best recipe ever my wife and kids loved it if i were not married i would marry this recipe ooh Tina V.Hare thank you i love it please eat this recipe, i love it it didnt even take that long. THX ******!!!!!!!!!$$$$$$$$$$$$
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
I took the advice of a friend and through garlic in when boiling the hamhocks. Also, I had to simmer them a bit longer becaue they were a bit hard at first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
This was very easy and tasted exactly like my mother-in-law's greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
This was the first time I have ever attempted greens and it turned out great. (Yes, the veg. oil is necessary! :) ) I just simmered for 30 -40 mintues though, that was all it needed! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
This was the first time I made these myself. I grew up eating collard greens, but it was usually my mom, and then my husband who made them. When it came time to add the greens to the pot, I was afraid that there wasn't enough water to support the simmer time, so I added more. The pot was so big and the greens filled it to the top. They turned out great in spite of the extra water. I do realize now, that I didn't need to do that. I will make this recipe again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
I did not like the recipe at all, but my husband did so I gave it 2 stars. It just did not have enough flavor and almost all of it went to waste. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAYLENE421

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Great recipe! I used this recipe to make collards for the first time. At the suggestion of a native southern woman (my boyfriend's mother), I skimmed the fat off of the top of the water before I added the collard greens. She said that this would keep the greens from being too greasy. Apparently, a lot of the flavor is in the water, because the collards turned out great with a wonderful, smokey flavor. One note for novice cookers (like myself): be careful with the red pepper flakes. They can overpower the greens if you accidentally add too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States