Southern Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Being a Northern girl, I didn't grow up on greens. My husband, born in the South loves greens. I made this recipe and he loved it...said it was the best he'd ever eaten! I'm slowly converting my cooking to add Southern dishes. Thanks for the tasty recipe Tina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was my first time ever cooking greens and everyone loved them! Since I don't eat pork I used smoked turkey wings and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I don't understand how a person says you should NEVER put this in that and yadda yadda. I NEVER ate collards with freshly chopped onions and tomatoes and my whole family from the south...it sounds good though but NOT a MUST :)! When you cook something cook it to your liking...you have to eat it! For those who are not familiar with collards...depending on how fresh your collards are, whether they are in season all are factors to consider. I have had some greens that are soooo tender I can cook em' in a short time (an hour or so). I have had green soooo tough I had to cook them overnight! It depends. Sometimes I add sugar to my greens (depends on the batch again). It's shouldn't be sweet however. I love to top my greens with peppered vinegar and I'm good to go!!! Have fun with your cooking! Don't get frustrated if you get a "bad" batch of greens (tough, real bitter, etc). this is a dish that is worth the effort. Good ol' comfort! One Love :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCooks305
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I am a true southern woman who has been cooking greens for over 35 years and as my mother did, we put alittle sugar and alittle vinegar in all those greens, no oil, the hocks have enough fat and we also remove the meat at the end. We cook them till they are very tender 2-3 hours and I dont use much red pepper as some can't tolerate it but I have bottle of pepper sauce and a bottle of hot sauce for you to add to taste. But, I cook sauteed onions and add with the greens and add black pepper, thyme and garlic I cook greens like this most every other week and really the key is boiling the hocks awhile first and cooking the greens a long time. They are even better the next day and during the holidays when I cook "vats" of greens, I do them a day or so ahead. Yum, I am going to have to cook some soon now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I LOVE collard greens! But I only gave 4 stars because 2 hours is way too long to cook them, but that's just my preference.There are as many variations of this recipe as there are southern cooks! The only thing I do different is that I add a lot of coarsely chopped garlic to the water when I boil my ham hocks. I remove the hocks after about 45 min to 1 hour and take off all the meat. I don't like my greens mushy so I only boil them for about 15 minutes with the red pepper and oil added. Then I add the meat back in right before serving. If you use fat back or bacon, which isn't as good in my opinion, then omit the oil unless you like them really greasy. And red pepper isn't optional in my house, it's standard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Venice, California, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
First off - ignore the fat content as you will not be eating the fat that has boiled out of the ham hocks! This is pretty reasonable for diets. Next, I see no reference to sugar so no need to comment on that. If you want to really do this right, put the ham hocks in the slow cooker with chicken stock and cook overnight, then use that liquid instead of the water. You will never use water again to cook greens! I don't see why you will need to add the vegetable oil doing the greens this way. Awsome says this country boy from souf calina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
i tried this dish for me and a close friend and he loved it but i added hot sauce a some vinegar!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BMILLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Excellent recipe--just how my grandmother's always made them. Don't forget to splash them with vinegar before devouring them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This recipe is great! I'm from the south (Alabama) and this recipe is just like my grandmother's! One thing.....you DO add sugar to collards. An earlier posting said to add sugar to mustards...not collards......not so!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Make sure you use smoked ham hocks, not regular ones as listed in the recipe for great flavor. Forget the oil; it's not needed. Taste the collards part way through the cooking time to see if they need the sugar. Like other vegeatbles, if very fresh, they won't need it. If older, they will. Add a splash of cider vinegar near the end of cooking and use only four cups of water unless you want tons of pot likker. The recipe is ok. Because the recipe calls for ham hocks, not smoked hock and adds the oil, I'm giving it a lower rating. And don't forget to serve it with hot peppa sauce! ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ McD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States