Southern Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Tasty as is but honestly I knew my kids wouldn't eat it. So after tasting the original recipe, I added 2 T sugar, a couple splashes of red wine vinegar, about 1 t Liquid Smoke, and a little bit more water to mix it all together. Tasty and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Awesome. I did add a few more itesm to this recip to makd it like down home greens. I added sugar, a bit of vinegar, which enhanced the taste, some chopped onions, adn sliced hot sausage links. I also added about 1/8 cup of chopped pecans, which is a tip a friend gave me to reduce the strong smell that the green make when you cook them. It works perfect every time. My fiance and daughter both ate these , even though neither one of them like greens, so they say. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
When I make collards I either use smoked ham hocks or a smoked turkey leg and I usually cook the meat until its tender and is falling off the bone. I don't add the oil. but I do add a jalepeno pepper and seasoning salt and black pepper. I also trim my greens real well making sure I remove the thick stem and I rinse several times in salt water (I just sprinkle table salt on the greens and rinse them off sometimes I will let them soak for a little while before I rinse)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I haven't tried this recipe word for word but this is very similar to my collards and they are delicious. Instead of all water I use two parts chicken broth to one part water.It makes an amaazing difference in the flavor. Sometimes I alternate with side meat strips,a dash of sugar but definitely garlic and sauted onions(from bacon grease) added near the end of the cooking. The photo looks yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Hawkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Being a Northern girl, I didn't grow up on greens. My husband, born in the South loves greens. I made this recipe and he loved it...said it was the best he'd ever eaten! I'm slowly converting my cooking to add Southern dishes. Thanks for the tasty recipe Tina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was my first time ever cooking greens and everyone loved them! Since I don't eat pork I used smoked turkey wings and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I don't understand how a person says you should NEVER put this in that and yadda yadda. I NEVER ate collards with freshly chopped onions and tomatoes and my whole family from the south...it sounds good though but NOT a MUST :)! When you cook something cook it to your liking...you have to eat it! For those who are not familiar with collards...depending on how fresh your collards are, whether they are in season all are factors to consider. I have had some greens that are soooo tender I can cook em' in a short time (an hour or so). I have had green soooo tough I had to cook them overnight! It depends. Sometimes I add sugar to my greens (depends on the batch again). It's shouldn't be sweet however. I love to top my greens with peppered vinegar and I'm good to go!!! Have fun with your cooking! Don't get frustrated if you get a "bad" batch of greens (tough, real bitter, etc). this is a dish that is worth the effort. Good ol' comfort! One Love :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCooks305
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I am a true southern woman who has been cooking greens for over 35 years and as my mother did, we put alittle sugar and alittle vinegar in all those greens, no oil, the hocks have enough fat and we also remove the meat at the end. We cook them till they are very tender 2-3 hours and I dont use much red pepper as some can't tolerate it but I have bottle of pepper sauce and a bottle of hot sauce for you to add to taste. But, I cook sauteed onions and add with the greens and add black pepper, thyme and garlic I cook greens like this most every other week and really the key is boiling the hocks awhile first and cooking the greens a long time. They are even better the next day and during the holidays when I cook "vats" of greens, I do them a day or so ahead. Yum, I am going to have to cook some soon now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I LOVE collard greens! But I only gave 4 stars because 2 hours is way too long to cook them, but that's just my preference.There are as many variations of this recipe as there are southern cooks! The only thing I do different is that I add a lot of coarsely chopped garlic to the water when I boil my ham hocks. I remove the hocks after about 45 min to 1 hour and take off all the meat. I don't like my greens mushy so I only boil them for about 15 minutes with the red pepper and oil added. Then I add the meat back in right before serving. If you use fat back or bacon, which isn't as good in my opinion, then omit the oil unless you like them really greasy. And red pepper isn't optional in my house, it's standard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Venice, California, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
First off - ignore the fat content as you will not be eating the fat that has boiled out of the ham hocks! This is pretty reasonable for diets. Next, I see no reference to sugar so no need to comment on that. If you want to really do this right, put the ham hocks in the slow cooker with chicken stock and cook overnight, then use that liquid instead of the water. You will never use water again to cook greens! I don't see why you will need to add the vegetable oil doing the greens this way. Awsome says this country boy from souf calina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States