Southern Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This recipe is great! I'm from the south (Alabama) and this recipe is just like my grandmother's! One thing.....you DO add sugar to collards. An earlier posting said to add sugar to mustards...not collards......not so!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Make sure you use smoked ham hocks, not regular ones as listed in the recipe for great flavor. Forget the oil; it's not needed. Taste the collards part way through the cooking time to see if they need the sugar. Like other vegeatbles, if very fresh, they won't need it. If older, they will. Add a splash of cider vinegar near the end of cooking and use only four cups of water unless you want tons of pot likker. The recipe is ok. Because the recipe calls for ham hocks, not smoked hock and adds the oil, I'm giving it a lower rating. And don't forget to serve it with hot peppa sauce! ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ McD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Better than what I had at Sylvia's in Harlem earlier this year (don't tell them though!). I used leftover Christmas hambone. It goes excellent with cornbread. I recommend soaking the leaves for sure, especially if they're a little old looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Take it from a TRUE Alabama girl, this is not exactly how to make REAL SOUTHERN collard greens. First, you must cut out all the thick stems. Discard them. Chop greens and cook as direted in this recipe with hamhocks. I use a pressure cooker and pressure them for 45 minutes. After the steam is released, take off the top and add at least 1/4 bacon grease. Nothing else will do, arteries be damned! Cook down until no liquid is left. If using a tradition stove-top method, add the bacon grease after the two hours of cooking. This is the method used for generations in my family. AWESOME! The more bacon grease the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I thought it was okay, but nothing great. First it was way too greasy. Then the ham hocks, once cooked the chunks were too big, I think they should have been cut somewhere along the way. At the end, they made my stomach sick. The sad thing is, I love greens, but this was not what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
add some white suger and its a winner!! I add garlic sometimes aswell, but the hot and sweet is what really sets it off for our family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Just a little note from another "Southern Belle", suger is sometimes used in greens(even collards)to cut the bitterness. Greens only sweeten after the first cold weather gets to them. My grandparents and parents farmed greens for years and this is what they taught me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
627 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
These were fabulous! I let them cook for even a couple more hours, I figured it couldn't hurt. Great flavor and very simple! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Coming from a Southern gal ~ this is terrific! Made this recipe for New Year's Day (exactly as recipe is stated). My guests loved the collard greens. When my grocer put collards on sale, I bought 4 bunches and made a huge pot for freezing. Yes, that good. YUM! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESTWINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
YOU ARE RIGHT THEY SHOULD BE COOKED FOR HOURS. ANYTHING LESS PRODUCES BITTER GREENS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States