Southern Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Loved this! We were tired of traditional coleslaw, but I still had a bag of coleslaw mix to use up, so this was the perfect solution. The flavor was so light and refreshing. I'll make this again. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This was very good! I'm on a diet and can't make cole slaw with a bucket of mayo & sour cream. I had the slaw mix and left over diced tomoatoes from the night before. I didn't have lime juice but added a few drops of lemon juice. It's very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
My family loved this recipe. I added about 6 ounces of chopped chicken breast to it and it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This was great served with grilled Mahi Mahi. It has a very fresh light taste. I will keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
We loved this recipe! I took previous reviewers advice and increased the tomatoes,and olive oil and added shrimp. I chose a broccoli cole slaw mix which gave a fresh flavor, it was a meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CriticalMass

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
What a wonderful fresh taste and so simple! Thanks for the recipe : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPICYCAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sandy, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Excellent! Simple, easy and tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Great light cole slaw, just a little to salty. I used fresh cabbage rather than bagged mix so maybe I didn't use enough and that's why it turned out salty. I've never cared for the traditional mayo based version. I added extra tomatoes, a little olive oil, and minced garlic as recommended by another reviewer and it turned out great. Next time I will cut the salt and pepper a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This is awesome. I grew up eating lots of salads with plenty of lemon and lime; I absolutely hate mayo and the sweetness that goes with it in coleslaw. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orosi, California, USA
Living In: Brawley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
this was a great hit at a family dinner so much different then the normal mayo coleslaw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiNkEr BeLl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States