Southern Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This was a great, light alternative to my usual creamy coleslaw. After making it according to recipe directions, it was lacking something, so I added extra tomatoes, chopped green onion and about a tablespoon of garlic olive oil. I served it with chicken satay and peanut sauce, and the flavors were terrific together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This was very good! I'm on a diet and can't make cole slaw with a bucket of mayo & sour cream. I had the slaw mix and left over diced tomoatoes from the night before. I didn't have lime juice but added a few drops of lemon juice. It's very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
We loved this recipe! I took previous reviewers advice and increased the tomatoes,and olive oil and added shrimp. I chose a broccoli cole slaw mix which gave a fresh flavor, it was a meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CriticalMass

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This was very easy, and it was refreshing to have as a small side dish, but I don't think I would want more than a few bites at any one meal. The only change I made to the recipe was to add some chopped celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Loved this! We were tired of traditional coleslaw, but I still had a bag of coleslaw mix to use up, so this was the perfect solution. The flavor was so light and refreshing. I'll make this again. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
it was okay. not all i had hoped for, but it was okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
It was a waste of 5 minutes of my time....too tart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Great light cole slaw, just a little to salty. I used fresh cabbage rather than bagged mix so maybe I didn't use enough and that's why it turned out salty. I've never cared for the traditional mayo based version. I added extra tomatoes, a little olive oil, and minced garlic as recommended by another reviewer and it turned out great. Next time I will cut the salt and pepper a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
This did not work for me..........very tart............did not care for at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This was great served with grilled Mahi Mahi. It has a very fresh light taste. I will keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States