Southern Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
Great tasting recipe! Too bad it doesn't look the same. I made this with cubed beef steaks and my own blend of seasonings including garlic powder, onion powder, salt, and pepper. I made a cream gravy on the side. My husband and I both enjoyed this dish, but my only complaint would be that it didn't brown beautifully at all. It was a ruddy instead of golden brown. Could it be the egg?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fultondale, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
Virginia, this is a wonderful recipe for sure. My daughter, her boyfriend and his parents were headed back from Six Flags last night and while on the phone I asked my daughter what "Arnie" wanted for dinner Sunday night. He proclaimed "Chicken Fried Steak"! I've made it before, but wanted to find a different recipe and I'm so glad I did. It was a huge hit, for he's the pickiest twenty year old I've ever met. In my flour mixture I used garlic and onion powders, paprika, salt and pepper and a bit of cayenne. If it wasn't for the fact that he also requested fetticini alfredo (low fat dinner right?) I would have used some of the drippings to make a gravy. After coating the cube steaks I used for this dish, I let it sit for about ten minutes and had no problem with the breading falling off while frying. Thanks again Virginia for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I used cubed steak rather then veal. I also used a electric skillet so I could control the temp better. I set it to 350 and didn't put the steaks in till it was at that temp. I cooked them about 10 mins on each side. I didn't have any problems with the coating falling off. Served with mashed potatoes and a veg...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Fabulous! Just like down home in North Carolina. Make white gravy, mashed potatoes and fried apspargus. Hubby raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
WOW! This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This is SO good! I used beef cubed steak in lieu of veal and added garlic powder and paprika. What a great recipe! I made gravy, too, and it was perfect with buttery mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachakno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Priest River, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Very good although I had to add extra "EVOO" and the timing was much less than 10 minutes a side on medium high heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Great and super easy recipie! My family, including my picky husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
This was the first time either I or my husband ever tried chicken fried steak and it was GREAT!!!! I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mantua, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clementon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
My husband loves chicken fried steak but I never knew how to make it until now. This recipe is wonderful, simple and he loves it so now I have to make it at least 2 times a month. Thanks a bunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States