Southern Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
We enjoyed this recipe. We used buffalo minute steaks which had great flavor but are a little more chewy than beef. Overall a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This was good but I am having such a problem keeping the breading on the steak. It keeps falling off. I have two different ways of breading the steak and it didn't work. I found third method which hopefully will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Great recipe. I used the thin sliced chicken breast, added my own seasoning to the flour and fried in a fry daddy as I don't have a cast iron skillet yet. For gravy I used southeastern mills mix and garlic mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I kinda used part of this recipe for reference and part of Emeril Lagasse's Country Fried Steak with white gravy. I was actually surprised no gravy recipe was added to this when the picture clearly has gravy in it. I also used chicken breast and made it chicken fried chicken because I had no steak. Just pounded it thin. Turned out fabulous. Gravy is to die for that I made. Used about 1/4 cup of the drippings from the chicken I fried and added flour to it. Brought to a small boil and added milk a little at a time mixing with a whisk vigorously. About 3 cups of milk. Just stir til it thickens. Viola. Gave it 3 stars because it just wasn't complete and had gravy on it and no recipe. Had to find that on my own. Also, add plenty of salt and pepper to season it. Just taste if before you add more salt. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Okay. This recipe is excellent for method, but vague for flavor. I used peanut oil in a chicken fryer and made up a batch of gravy with the pan scrapings. As for the seasonings, I used equal amounts of ground oregano, ground thyme, ground marjoram, cayenne, paprika, chili powder, white pepper, black pepper and sage (about 1/4tsp each for the 2 cups of flour). Instead of veal, I used minute steaks. Minute steaks required about 4 minutes per side. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matmyers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I also used cube steak and loved this simple, delicious recipe. I didn't have herb seasoning, only salt & pepper but trust me, it won't matter. I'm looking forward to making it again and experimenting with herb seasoning and maybe even cayenne to give it a cajun kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I really love simple recipes like this. I especially like the flour/egg/flour prep too. I always use thin-sliced chicken breasts and add extra seasonings to the flour. Quick, easy, and total comfort food. Round out this recipe with some mashed potatoes, country gravy and corn, and you've got a very satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
My husband loved it and it's very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Potomac, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
My family loved this. I did add some seasonings to the flour and also salt and pepper to the cube steaks I used. The kids asked for seconds! I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Mine turned out too tough to eat! =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States