Southern Chess Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
This recipe is wrong! Most of the recipe is doubled but it doesn't say that. It should be 2 boxes of cake mix and 2 eggs going into crust. I followed recipe exactly and it turned out awful! I have checked against other recipes since it was such a flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Made two different varieties. In both I used only 3 cps sugar. In both I omitted the nuts because I was baking for a public function. First with chocolate cake. Daughter claimed it was the best thing she ever ate! The second I used lemon cake mix and drizzled melted seedless raspberry jam over the top. This was fantastic tasting! Not as pretty as I'd hoped, the edges bubbled up and were brownish. Nothing a dab of cool whip couldn't cure!The centre of the cake was beautiful and swirly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is a great recipe! I never had these with the pecans. Now pecans are a must! The only thing I did different was, I only used 1 cup of sugar and vegan butter. "PERFECT "! Thanks for this recipe. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This was pretty good but way to sweet. If I make it again, I'll cut sugar down to 3 cups probably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
These are out of this world good!! I've made them for several church functions, and there's never any left. They always get great reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roan Mountain, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Thank you soo much. This saved Christmas dinner. I fixed them without the pecans(hope that's ok)and they loved them. i am preparing them right now as we speak because they can not get enough of them. Again thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I have made this recipe several different ways, for those that say its too sweet I have a suggestion. Use the low fat cream cheese. I made some and it cut down the sweet and made them a bit tangy but they cooked up the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
A great way to get a sweet fix! I made these last night at my husband and father-in-law's request. They turned out good, but slightly burnt. I cooked them for forty-five minutes like the recipe suggested, but next time will check on them after thirty minutes. Will try again with a shorter cook time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
These were excellent and SO easy and quick. I left out the pecans, due to being in a pinch and not having any and they were still delish. I cut them up in to bars for a bake sale, they were not hard enough to have sharp edges, but that was their appeal, they were visibly moist and soft and SOLD like hotcakes. Will make again for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momto3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
These taste exactly like the ones I grew up eating at my grandma's. My husband is addicted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States