Southern Chess Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Made two different varieties. In both I used only 3 cps sugar. In both I omitted the nuts because I was baking for a public function. First with chocolate cake. Daughter claimed it was the best thing she ever ate! The second I used lemon cake mix and drizzled melted seedless raspberry jam over the top. This was fantastic tasting! Not as pretty as I'd hoped, the edges bubbled up and were brownish. Nothing a dab of cool whip couldn't cure!The centre of the cake was beautiful and swirly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is a great recipe! I never had these with the pecans. Now pecans are a must! The only thing I did different was, I only used 1 cup of sugar and vegan butter. "PERFECT "! Thanks for this recipe. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This was pretty good but way to sweet. If I make it again, I'll cut sugar down to 3 cups probably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
These are out of this world good!! I've made them for several church functions, and there's never any left. They always get great reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roan Mountain, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Thank you soo much. This saved Christmas dinner. I fixed them without the pecans(hope that's ok)and they loved them. i am preparing them right now as we speak because they can not get enough of them. Again thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I have made this recipe several different ways, for those that say its too sweet I have a suggestion. Use the low fat cream cheese. I made some and it cut down the sweet and made them a bit tangy but they cooked up the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
A great way to get a sweet fix! I made these last night at my husband and father-in-law's request. They turned out good, but slightly burnt. I cooked them for forty-five minutes like the recipe suggested, but next time will check on them after thirty minutes. Will try again with a shorter cook time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
These were excellent and SO easy and quick. I left out the pecans, due to being in a pinch and not having any and they were still delish. I cut them up in to bars for a bake sale, they were not hard enough to have sharp edges, but that was their appeal, they were visibly moist and soft and SOLD like hotcakes. Will make again for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momto3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
These taste exactly like the ones I grew up eating at my grandma's. My husband is addicted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Awesome! Just make this recipe exactly the way it says... don't leave anything out, don't reduce the sugar, and so on! It's perfect! I sell these and EVERYONE loves them!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States