Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This is how I have been making my sweet potatoes since I can remember, and how my mother and grandmother did before me. The only difference is that I use brown sugar instead of white. I think it gives it a more "carmelized" flavor and texture. I also omit the spices all together. I don't care for spicy sweet potatoes, just SWEET sweet potatoes :0) Be sure to use "real" butter for this as that is part of the fabulous end result!!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
289 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pretty_in_pink_pa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Slow cooking without stirring made all the difference - thank you I finally made the perfect sweet potatoes! I only baked the potatoes for a bit so they would not fall apart while slow cooking and stay firm. Also, I only used about 2 TBS brown sugar. About 5 minutes before serving, I transfered them to a casserole dish and added chopped pecans then topped with marshmallows and browned it in the oven. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
I found this recipe looking for a new sweet potato recipe for Thanksgiving. Now my family expects me to make this for every holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I love this recipe, but my son is diabetic so I use Splenda in place of the sugar and double the spices. Some times I also add a little sugar free maple flavored syrup for a more traditional taste I also bake it. I served it at our family Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. They also liked the fact it was much lower in calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Excellent recipe! Much easier than the way I made them in the past. I needed a large dutch oven sized pot to cook six sweet potatoes though. I left them in large chunks so they wouldn't disintigrate while cooking. The addition of vanilla is awesome but my family doesn't care for cinnamon and nutmeg in their candied sweet potatoes, so I added the zest of one small orange which added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Finally! After years of the frustration of having watery sweet potatoes and not being sweet enough...I come across this recipe! Now I can serve my candied yams with pride. I never thought I'd be able to make them "candied". And I never thought to cook them in an iron skillet. DUH! This is definately a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Yummy. My husband raved about them so much I ended up cooking another batch the day after. Smelled so good while cooking. Took longer to cook than expected-I think I cut the potatoes too thick. Added half white-half brown sugar because I like the flavor the brown sugar adds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Served this on Thanksgiving. It was a big hit. I substituted Splenda brown sugar for half of the sugar. It was great. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Delicious and easy. I used about 2 pounds of sweet potatoes, uncooked. Peeled and sliced them into a baking pan. I also used half white and half brown sugar. Baked them covered at 375 degrees for about 1 and a 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Fabulous recipe! I tried this recipe for the first time last Thanksgiving and have used it ever since!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States