Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I hate sweet potatoes but I've been trying different recipes for Thanksgiving for the past couple of years. This got rave reviews from all of my guests and was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Everyone ate their sweet potatoes this year! Followed the recipe to the letter and they were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShellLea77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was a big hit at the Thanksgiving table. I already had the ingredients from making a Jewish apple cake. Sugar, butter, cinamamon and nutmeg, that's it. The cooking time carmelizes the sugar and you would swear there is brown sugar in this recipie. I hand cut the yams into 3/4 inch slices, some in half, giving a quarter moon effect. This is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Galloway Township, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
An hour may be a little too long. My potatoes were falling apart at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
We just finished our Thanksgiving dinner, and I couldn't write this review fast enough! These were so easy to make, and so delicious that five stars are not enough! My mother in law, from Mississippi, said these sweet potatoes are just like what she grew up with! Any time my mother in law compliments my cooking, I KNOW it's a keeper! Thanks so much Pam for this recipe, it's easy to make and tastes so good I can't wait to make them again (and it won't be next Thanksgiving either)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This recipe was easy and absolutely delicious! easier than opening a couple of cans and doctoring them to pass them off as home made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I used this recipe and combined it with another; adding a little OJ to the mix 1/2 cup to be exact as I had doubled the recipe. Then followed this other than that. Delicous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McKennacat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I've made this for the last two years, easy no fail. I remove to dish and layer marshmellows on top and broil for a split second! always gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Similar to what my mom taught me - but we do it on a cookie sheet in the oven. Boil the potatoes ahead with the peels on. Let them cool and the peels will slide right off. (If you don't peel them, you can leave them in the pot in the fridge till the next day.) Slice the peeled potatoes about 1/2" thick. Melt 1/4 c of butter on a cookie sheet in a 400 degree oven. Place the potatoes on the sheet turning to coat with butter. Sprinkle with brown sugar and any spices you want (cinammon or nutmeg). Bake for 30 min or until the edges are crisp. Fabulous the next day warmed in the microwave! And freeze really well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Seidler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States