Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Two words: too sweet! I made this for the first time for Thanksgiving, and because 6 potatoes didn't fit the pan- I only put 5 or so. They turned out too soft and too sweet, so I made steamed a couple more potatoes and added it into the dish. It tasted better this way and had some balance to it. I'll be making this again- IT WAS STILL GOOD but will def cut down on butter+ sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Made this for the first time this year for Thanksgiving. I was nervous because I never made candied sweet potatoes before. This recipe was SO EASY!! Everyone loved them. I will def use this recipe again. Tip: don't stir the potatoes too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made these for Thanksgiving and they turned out soft instead of candied but still absolutely delicious. I didn't have a skillet large enough for 6 lg sweet potatoes so only used 4. I also used brown sugar instead of white sugar. I may follow another reviewers suggestion and uncover for the last 30 minutes of cooking, in hope that some of the excess liquid will evaporate to help candy. My guests went on and on about how these were the best sweet potatoes they had ever tried. They couldn't have been easier to make either. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Good, but quite sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I hate sweet potatoes but I've been trying different recipes for Thanksgiving for the past couple of years. This got rave reviews from all of my guests and was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Everyone ate their sweet potatoes this year! Followed the recipe to the letter and they were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShellLea77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was a big hit at the Thanksgiving table. I already had the ingredients from making a Jewish apple cake. Sugar, butter, cinamamon and nutmeg, that's it. The cooking time carmelizes the sugar and you would swear there is brown sugar in this recipie. I hand cut the yams into 3/4 inch slices, some in half, giving a quarter moon effect. This is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Galloway Township, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
An hour may be a little too long. My potatoes were falling apart at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
We just finished our Thanksgiving dinner, and I couldn't write this review fast enough! These were so easy to make, and so delicious that five stars are not enough! My mother in law, from Mississippi, said these sweet potatoes are just like what she grew up with! Any time my mother in law compliments my cooking, I KNOW it's a keeper! Thanks so much Pam for this recipe, it's easy to make and tastes so good I can't wait to make them again (and it won't be next Thanksgiving either)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States