Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This recipe was easy and absolutely delicious! easier than opening a couple of cans and doctoring them to pass them off as home made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I used this recipe and combined it with another; adding a little OJ to the mix 1/2 cup to be exact as I had doubled the recipe. Then followed this other than that. Delicous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McKennacat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I've made this for the last two years, easy no fail. I remove to dish and layer marshmellows on top and broil for a split second! always gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Similar to what my mom taught me - but we do it on a cookie sheet in the oven. Boil the potatoes ahead with the peels on. Let them cool and the peels will slide right off. (If you don't peel them, you can leave them in the pot in the fridge till the next day.) Slice the peeled potatoes about 1/2" thick. Melt 1/4 c of butter on a cookie sheet in a 400 degree oven. Place the potatoes on the sheet turning to coat with butter. Sprinkle with brown sugar and any spices you want (cinammon or nutmeg). Bake for 30 min or until the edges are crisp. Fabulous the next day warmed in the microwave! And freeze really well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Seidler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Husband thought is was too sweet but everyone else liked them. Didn't use the vanilla. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Excellent, I used "I can't believe it's not butter" instead of real butter...i also cooked with the lid on for 30 mins, then removed the lid to cook for the last 30 (on low heat) to allow the sweet potatoes / sugar to caramelize! i don't think the vanilla was necessary so i didn't add it, the nutmeg and cinnamon were more than enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Good recipe! Very simple. My wife said it was better than hers and she's from the south! Give it a try with no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Whole family loved this. I made it healthier by using cocunut oil instead of butter/margerine. Also used 1/2 cup raw sugar and 1/8 cup Stevia instead of the 2 cups sugar. It was plenty sweet that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I probably didn't do something right but, these ended up way too sweet and they didn't turn hard around the edges it was sorta soggy, I don't think I would try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This recipe was greeeeeeeeat the only thing is it was a little too loose , I would suggest instead of covering the dish let simmer uncovered the last 30-35 minute until done , also like some others I totally forgot the vanilla extract because I was too busy taste testing, but overall great recipe, I definitely will be making this recipe again soooooooon , I will tweek it a little , I would advise any first timers please follow recipe instructions then make changes the way you see fit. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States