Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
The best I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Halved the sugar and butter and cooked it all in a cast iron skillet. I added a handful of pecans. It was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
These were easy and delicious and tasted exactly like what my grandmother made. I used 1 c brown sugar and 1 c white. Also freed up the oven for other Thanksgiving dishes. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
The recipe was OK. My sauce didn't candy, so I had to add a bit of cornstarch at the end. But by that time, they were so soft, that they mushed a bit when I tried stirring in the cornstarch. I cut sugar to 1/2 cup brown and 1/2 cup white. The nutmeg was overpowering even though I used less and I suggest omitting it completely. I will be trying another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Thanks so much! This is my first time cooking sweet potatoes. Reminds me of my moms recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I used to mess my yams up, not no more because of this recipe, my family wants yams every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Very good sweet potatoes. Whenever I make sweet potatoes this is the recipe I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I first made this at Thanksgiving....everyone ranted and raved how delicious it was. I followed others suggestions AND I was using freshly grated nutmeg (stronger than pre-ground). I used less than the recipe calls for. It is so EASY! And since I use smaller knife cuts on my sweet potatoes, I can get it cooked in 20 minutes. It is now a weeknight side dish & I make it everytime sweet potatoes are on sale!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennygurl
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This recipe did not live up to the reviews or my expectations. I want to taste candied Sweet Potatoes like my mom use to make so bad, I'm willing to try this recipe again, albeit on a much smaller scale. I will update this review at that time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Great stuff - cut the recipe in half though. Glad I did. It made a bunch! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States