Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Delicious! I made this according to the recipe and it was enjoyed by everyone. Next time I will reduce the sugar, it was a bit too sweet for me. But it carmelized beautifully and the potatoes were a good texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Made for Easter. Everyone loved them. I reduced the sugar a bit and added some marshmallows...not because it needed them but because the family threatened to throw me into the insane asylum when I told them I wasn't going to use them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCJANGULO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I make mine like that except for the spices. I also brown them a little bit in "bacon grease" before adding the sugar. Add sugar then put on the lid, turn fire down to simmer, let simmer for about 20 miniutes.........and yummy. THanks for the recipes, i will try the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Made for Easter, big hit. Didn't have any vanilla and substituted 1C brown sugar. Nothing was left,not one scrap. Will try with vanilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
OUTSTANDING! There are many recipes and mostly good. This was indeed a great recipe for any sweet potatoe fan. I did tho' went to 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar. My personal prefernce. Both ways are just fine and not a negative word to say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandy Ridge, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Just like ya get down south. Makes me miss living down there all the more. Pa doesn't know how to make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupatea4thee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This is wonderful! I cut back on the amount of sugar and used brown instead of white. By adding the vanilla, it was still sweet enough for us. No changes other than that. My husband had seconds. Definitely added to my recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
First time ever making candied sweet potatoes and they turned great. I used one cup white sugar and one cup brown sugar. My potatoes didn't cook evenly on the stove top, so I transferred them to a baking dish and finished cooking them in the oven. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I made these tonight. They were very good! My 84 year old Mother even ate seconds, which is rare because she is SO picky. I forgot the vanilla, but will definitely make these again (& add vanilla) since they are so easy & good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Fantastic. I didn't add the spices except for the salt. Usually I just wing it when making these, but not any more. This was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States