Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I substituted brown sugar for white. That's the only substitution I made. I don't think I can go back to the canned stuff ever again. Thank you very much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Hood, Texas, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
My second attempt at candied sweet potatoes. The first time I tried my own recipe but didnt like it. I loved this one with the changes that I made to it, I used only 1 cup of granulated sugar and 1 cup of brown sugar and when it was almost finished I added 2 tablespoons of cornstartch to the sauce to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Next time, I would cut the sweet potatoes into smaller pieces so that it would cook faster. But it tasted really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Oh so yummy!! I made them last night for our late Christmas party. Everyone loved them. I used 1 c. white sugar, 1 c. brown sugar. I think next time I will use 1 or 2 more potatoes (mine may have been smaller?)as I seemed to have a lot of extra sauce. Luckily I had some left overs-so I had them for lunch today-still just as yummy as yesterday! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Although I couldn't get them to 'candy', or harden at the edges as described, these were, as my husband put it, better than a roll in the hay, or words to that effect. I must have had too small a quantity of yams, or too much sugar mixture. But boy, were they good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Princeton, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Woo-wee! These were AWESOME! Best sweet potato recipe we've ever had!! Might try cutting down on the amount of sugar next time- 2 cups seems like an awful lot...but worth it! Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Can't go wrong with butter and sugar! I used about a cup and a half of brown sugar, and put it all in the slow cooker. Worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schmane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Very good! I will be making this again for Christmas!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbass505

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This is so wonderful. My husband just raved over it and made me cook it for him again and again. He told me I cook so Good that he would marry me all over again just for my cooking ...LOL 10 million stars. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 'Rhonda Schroeder

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
My mom makes sweet potatoes for Thanksgiving every year, and I've never liked them before, but these were awesome! My dad hollered from the kitchen when he was getting more, "Michele did you make these?" I hollered back, "Yeah," and he said, "They're actually good this year!" I guess you had to be there, but boy these were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States