Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Thank you Pam for submitting this recipe, it is as close to what I remember my great grandmother making, it is absolutely delicious, I did use brown sugar instead of white, but I am sure it is great either way. Finally a recipe without marshmallows and nuts! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
man oh man! this is some good stuff! I used splenda instead of sugar and smart balence instead of butter to lighten it up some and it tasted oh, so good. and it was very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
The best! My husband loves sweet potatoes, but I usually gave him the canned type. I'll never go back to canned again! Like the others, I used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. Will use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I love this recipe, but my son is diabetic so I use Splenda in place of the sugar and double the spices. Some times I also add a little sugar free maple flavored syrup for a more traditional taste I also bake it. I served it at our family Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. They also liked the fact it was much lower in calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This is a great, easy recipe. The sweet potatoes do not need par boiling or pre-cooking. I forgot the vanilla at the end and don't really think they need it. The dish is very sweet and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
These are great. Very easy to make and very tasty. The only problem is that they are rather sweet so I can't eat too many at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
My family always made sweet potatoes as a baked holiday dish. These sweet potatoes are much more delicious than any of the baked dishes I had as a child. I also love that you can save room in the oven for other dishes at the holiday. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Evans, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
These candied sweet potatoes were wonderful! I didn't use the vanilla, but followed the recipe except for that exclusion and my family loved them. I did put a few marshmallows on top, but they really weren't necessary. Just made the dish prettier. I will definately make this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Incredible! There wasn't a bite left over. Very easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Yummy! I always bought the canned or frozen kind, NEVER again! Followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing!! Almost forgot VERY easy too!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States