Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This is so wonderful. My husband just raved over it and made me cook it for him again and again. He told me I cook so Good that he would marry me all over again just for my cooking ...LOL 10 million stars. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
My mom makes sweet potatoes for Thanksgiving every year, and I've never liked them before, but these were awesome! My dad hollered from the kitchen when he was getting more, "Michele did you make these?" I hollered back, "Yeah," and he said, "They're actually good this year!" I guess you had to be there, but boy these were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
a little overly sweet (but I liked it that way), make sure not to cut the potatoes too thin like I did, it gets gooey, even though it cooks much faster. just as good reheated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEACHIENESS

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
After making these I will never used canned potatoes again! They were so wonderful I could have served them for dessert! I don't like nutmeg so I used 1/2 tsp of cloves instead and used about 3/4 C white sugar and 1 1/4 C brown sugar and left out the salt. I also had to add some canned chicken stock to keep them from sticking and burning. They still candied nicely. THE BEST D_MN Taters I ever et!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Great recipe. I always look to cook something traditional in different ways. I received quite a few compliments and some wouldn't even believe I made them. I was being lazy and used canned sweet potatoes, so I reduced the amount of sugar. I'll definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
The boys loved it, I made these candied sweet potatos for the first time for ThanksGiving, they turned out great ! ! The Family loved them, they remind me of my grandmothers candied yams. I used a I cup of white sugar and 1 cup of light brown sugar. Next time I will cut the sugar to about 1 1/2 cup a little too sweet for me, but fantastic recipe all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I found out why this recipe got such good reviews. Very, very good. As a kid I didn't care much for sweet potatoes but decided to make them for Thanksgiving because they are a favorite of my fathers. Everyone was impressed. It will be a regular every year from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
The flavor was awesome and the potatoes were so tender. I do like the sauce a little sticky maybe I'll try adding a little more brown sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I have tried a lot of recipes over the years and this is the best so far. I did change it to brown sugar and added some craisins, and two granny smith apples and it was so great the tart mixed well with the sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Delicious. It cooked down more than I anticipated so I would've used more sweet potatoes, but the flavor was divine. Huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States