Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I had a sweet-potato fanatic try this, and she loved it so much, she took the recipe home! Everyone thought they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
When I made this recipe, my potatoes broke up into small pieces from all the turning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is truly a Southern tradition. We have used "Red Hots" (cinnamon candies) in place of cinnamon and nutmeg - makes for a pretty presentation and adds a little zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I made this recipe last night and while it was really delicious, the next time I will do it a bit differently. I think there is way too much butter. 1/3 cup is too much and I believe 2-3 tbsp. is enough because otherwise it is too greasy. I would also bake it in the oven next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDI149

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This is the one dish I could never master, but now I am THE MASTER!! The only change I made was to use 1 cup of brown sugar & 1 cup of white sugar. I have made these numerous times now and they come out perfect every single time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Leverett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Yummy, and we forgot the vanilla at the end. I scaled it down to four servings and decreased the sugar a little. I also used half regular and half brown. It came out just as described in the directions. We'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
My potatoes turned out mushy, not candied or crispy/hard around the edges. There was a lot of sauce left after an hour of cooking and I made a point to use very large potatoes after reading some of the other reviews. The flavor wasn't bad but overall it was too mushy and too sweet for my taste. I don't anticipate making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I made Thanksgiving dinner (minus the turkey!) and Dad requested candied yams... in my 26 years we'd never had them before in our house. Though this wasn't what he had in mind (it wasn't like my grandma's I guess), he and the rest of us enjoyed it very much. Easy, and very sweet and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEG9881

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This is the best recipe I have ever tried...I will not go back to baking sweet potatoes again...the best part is the potatoes didnt fall part as soon as I touched them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chilipepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States