Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Believe it or not, I microwaved the sweet potato to speed things up. I actually only had one left in my fridge so I didn't want to wait to cook an hour. It worked out fine! Next time with more sweet potatoes I will make it correctly. But even this way, I would rate it a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
My sister, Susan, is the queen of candied yams. They are the favorite dish on any table! Her secrets for stove top yams: cook the butter and sugar first to get it thick and syrupy (but don't burn it), then add the yams, this way you don't over cook the potatoes and get them all mushy and falling apart. Also make enough sugary mixture to "cover" the yams, this way you don't have to keep turning and busting them up and all mushy. If you have to, turn the yams over with a small spoon one by one and "make sure to cook on low" so they "slightly" bubble. Don't let boil vigorously, this turns the yams to mush. You won't perfect this dish on the first try, but if you master it after 3-4 times, you'll get the perfect candied yams and they will ALWAYS be requested on Thanksgiving. We don't add other flavorings, don't need to, but we do add marshmallows on top and stick in the oven just to brown. Even picky kids eat em up, enjoy! was to cook ied yams. They were truly candied, not mushy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
very good. I just cooked mine a little different only b/c I had 3 large yams and had cut and was boiling them with the skin when I decided to look for a quick recipe and followed this one just 1/2 the amounts. after yams were done boiling I just dumped the other ingredients back into the pot I boiled them in and stirred it up and cooked for a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This was very tasty. The only thing I did differently was use 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. I had some Asian yams lying around, so I used this recipe and they turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEESELF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This is a super sweet potato recipe! Probably the best I have tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrialByFire
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
way too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Made this today for company. Everyone loved it. I doubled the amount of butter. Cooked much faster for me. I might have cut my potatoes thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This is my new favorite candied sweet potatoes recipe! It was a hit on both Thanksgiving and Christmas. The first time I made it, the nutmeg was very overpowering. I will be omitting it from now on, but I do suggest reducing the amount by at least half. It was hard to taste the sweet potato over it. I also used brown sugar instead of plain white sugar. I did tweak the recipe a bit. In the end, I transferred the potatoes to a casserole dish and topped with mini marshmallows and finely chopped pecans, and placed in a heated oven (350 is OK, no more than 400) until the marshmallows were gooey. The kids even loved it, and they aren't sweet potato fans. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
JUST like my grandma used to make!! Very very sweet, just like sweet potatoes are supposed to be served;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
These are really yummy! Easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States