Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY! The only thing i did differently was use half white sugar and half dark brown sugar and these were fantastic! These sweet potatoes and the Slow Cooker Stuffing (from this site also) were voted by everyone as the best things on the table. Huge hit, thanks for the recipe! I also liked that they didn't have to go in the oven...that oven was busy doing other things! Oh yeah, I also forgot to add the vanilla in the rush at the end, but they were fabulous anyway!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcmeade79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
These were good, my neighbor brought some with crushed pecans on top that were a little better. I had to remove the lid for the sauce to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexico, New York, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
yum yum yum yum yum! easy to make and full of flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
These are so good, I only had two potatoes and I used brown sugar instead of white, it turned out delicious and still enough for me, my husband, two kids and mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Good basic recipe, but WAAAYYY too sweet. I'd cut the sugar to 1 cup or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I made this dish for our Thanksgiving dinner, normally my family buys canned yams. I followed the recipe and made no changes, my family loved it. My mom has already requested I make this for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
DELICIOUS! I just made this for Thanksgiving at a friend's house and there was no leftovers! It was so good I had to promise my husband I would make it again tonight. I'm a rather disorganized cook (part of my charm), so I made a few recipes modifications out of necessity and based off other reviews. I only had 4 large sweet potatoes, I used 1/2 white, 1/2 brown sugar, left out the vanilla (I ran out!), and baked in the oven in a dark pan at 375 and covered with foil for 1 hour. Since I didn't have vanilla I drizzled some maple syrup over it just before I popped it in the oven. When I got to my friend's house I topped with chopped pecans and mini marshmallows and popped back in the oven uncovered for about 15 minutes, just enough to brown the marshmallows. Turned out to be the best part. When it came out of the oven the second time the sauce was thick and gooey! I think the spices added a nice flavor and the added pecans and marshmallows made it extra special! Everyone helped themselves to seconds and thirds! Thanks a lot for this recipe, it will be a holiday staple in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
After reading others' reviews, I used 2 cups of brown sugar instead of white sugar. I cooked the sweet potatoes for about 50 minutes, and they were perfectly soft. Overall, this recipe produced tasty candied sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I am confused.... I followed the recipie exactly, however the sugar burned. Is there a trick I am missing. Darn... Just sent poor hubby back to the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I had a sweet-potato fanatic try this, and she loved it so much, she took the recipe home! Everyone thought they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States