Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Just what I was looking for. Parents give me a big box of sweet potatoes in the autumn, and every year I attempt candied sweets like my Mom makes. This is it! Used brown sugar and added a splash of Jack Daniels. Not a nutmeg fan, so I substituted ground clove. Syrup was the perfect consistency after cooking according to this recipe. DH & I polished off the leftovers with breakfast this morning. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTaterPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Did them mostly in the skillet and then tossed them in the oven to finish. Had to hurry them, so they weren't super soft. Added a splash of bourbon (just for fun). My favorite comment? "I love the carrots!" ....(me) "They're sweet potatoes"...(him) "I HATE sweet potatoes though!" They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Delicious! My family loved them! Will definitely make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grace80

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This was a little too sweet for us. It did cook up beautifully though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Mine needed to cook much longer than an hour, and they turned out very soupy, not carmelized. I put them in a baking dish and cooked them an additional 20 mins in the oven to cook down the sauce a bit (this after cooking on the stovetop for 1 1/2 hours). The flavor was nice, and they didn't fall apart, but it took too long to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This is my one and only sweet potato recipe. I make it on all holidays and when I have a taste for them. I have shared this with family and they go crazy. These are the best!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue Crab Lover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
good recipe. cook a little bit longer because i like sweet potatoes to be a little bit more mushy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cortney
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I sliced the potatoes in 1/2 inch slices and reduced the recipe to four servings. It took much less than an hour to cook. As a result, the sugar/butter didn't caramelize too much but the results were still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
These were absolutely delicious! I didn't have nutmeg on hand so I just left that ingredient out. I don't think it made too much of a difference. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 141-150 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States