Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I probably didn't do something right but, these ended up way too sweet and they didn't turn hard around the edges it was sorta soggy, I don't think I would try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This recipe was greeeeeeeeat the only thing is it was a little too loose , I would suggest instead of covering the dish let simmer uncovered the last 30-35 minute until done , also like some others I totally forgot the vanilla extract because I was too busy taste testing, but overall great recipe, I definitely will be making this recipe again soooooooon , I will tweek it a little , I would advise any first timers please follow recipe instructions then make changes the way you see fit. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
For Thanksgiving my family used to by these frozen bagged candied sweet potatoes. This past year they were unable to find them in the grocery stores so I went out on a limb and tried this recipe. PERFECT! I am now in charge of the candied sweet potatoes every year. EVERYONE LOVED THEM! Even my sister who doesn't like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was good. Great flavor and potatoes were nice and tender! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Cook in a skillet? who knew? Worked millions times better than my method I've used for years. So much easier than boiling, transferring, baking, lots of dishes later. Good too, though I forgot the vanilla at the end. Rave reviews from family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This is def one of my favorite recipes on this site. My mother-in-law asked me how I made it and that's the first time in 11years that she complimented me on anything I made. I do use brown sugar and add pecans at the end and bake it for about 10 minutes.. mmm the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Awesome!! Scaled the recipe down, using only 2 potatoes, but still made plenty. You really need a large pan for this so you can spread the poatoes out so they cook evenly. Cooked in about 40 minutes. Used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar. Used another reviewer's suggestion and stirred the sugar into the melted butter before I added the potatoes; resulted in a great sauce. And don't forget the vanilla; it makes the dish pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
So delicious! I made this recipe almost exactly as written. The potatoes were cooked and starting to fall apart after only 30 minutes. I transferred them to a casserole dish, topped with mini marshmallows, and baked at 350 just until the marshmallows were golden brown. Kids and adults alike declared them amazing. This is certainly a tasty addition to any holiday meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This recipe is great. Only change I made was using brown sugar instead of white. Got rave reviews at the thanksgiving dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southampton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States