Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Gilmore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I did something wrong. The flavoring was very good, but they just ended up being very mushy. Next time I am going to caramelize the sugar, then add the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Bunny
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
5 stars for delicious and easy! Didn't add the vanilla because honestly, I didn't think they needed it! One thing to note--other reviewers mentioned that the potatoes fell apart. If you slice them thick (recipe never specified how thick to slice), you won't have that problem, and they'll still cook enough. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
YUMMO!!!! The best....followed others advice and used some brown some white sugar. Cooked overnight on WARM in crock pot. Turned up to low in the morning. Were soft by noon. Removed and topped with pecans and mini marshmallows baked in oven until melted. Served for Thanksgiving and were the first empty dish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This recipe is very similar to the one my mom makes. She bakes the sweet potatoes instead of stove top, and we use 1 cup white and 1 cup brown sugar. Great, simple southern recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Opelousas, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was my grandmother's recipe, although I suspect that she never followed one. Each year I have to come back and look it up, this time it is going in the family book to give to my grandchildren. I make mine in an iron skillet just like Grandma Russell did - adds to the flavor...ok, it's my story and I'm stickin' to it. This is a wonderful, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This was a good and EASY recipe! towards the end, i had to remove the cover and turn up the heat a little to thicken the sauce and brown them a little... but it turned out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holley Home

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I made these for Easter and they were a big hit. I did stir in toasted walnuts and then popped them in the oven for 20 minutes topped with mini-marshmallows. They were my favorite dish of the day! I will definitely use this one over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Amazing -- and i even used too much butter, and forgot the vanilla at the end....everyone raved about these after Easter dinner -- will make every time going forward!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
would not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States