Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
would not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This recipe is really good! I used brown sugar instead of white sugar, and used more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I made this for thanksgiving dinner and it all gone by the end of dinner, i didn't use as much sugar and i added brown sugar to the mix as well also I didn't have vanilla extract but it was still delicious this is def going to be a regular recipe for us during the holiday season
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Yum!!!!! I've made this dish a number of times and always get rave reviews. I made it again today and had NO leftovers!! Usually there is enough for a side dish for the next day, but not this time. I followed the recipe exactly - and like others I've forgotten the vanilla a couple of times, but usually remember before serving. The only alterations that MAY need to be made is the cook time, cook until candied, which may be a little longer or shorter than noted. Be careful when coating and turning the sweet potatoes so as not to break them up - you want candied sweets, not mashed sweets. Kudos Pam!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndAQT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I'm not a big fan of sweet potatoes so I made this for family this past Thanksgiving and OMG they still have not stopped talking about it, even my daughter who does not normally eat sweet potatoes loved it. I now have a new receipe to make every year. TYVM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Made these for Thanksgiving and they were fabulous. I did cut back a little on the nutmeg (personal preference), but other than that I made these exactly as written. This will be a regular side dish at our Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockton, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
OMG! Made them for Thanksgiving and another reviewer put them in a crockpot to save space so that's what I did....I'm telling you they where sooooo good, I always brought sweet potatoes in the can and I never would eat them because the potato did'nt taste real, I will never have to deprive myself from what I use to love. NEVER AGAIN. I added 1/2c of Brown Sugar cooked for 3hr. stirred a few time. My family loved them and everybody wanted seconds...very easy 1pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This recipe was delish!! I substituted brown sugar for the white and it came out perfect. Made these for Thanksgiving and they were a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Great recipe! We loved how they turned out. I reduced the recipe, b/c I only had 4 sweet potatoes. My 7 year old was helping me and might have added a little too much nutmeg. I forgot to add the vanilla at the end, and kept forgetting to stir it towards the end, but not stirring it made the ones on the bottom of the pan have a fried side to them. I took the potatoes out, placed them on a dish, then cranked up the heat on the sauce, when it was boiling, I drizzled it over the potatoes. YUMMY! Definatly soak your pan in soap & water immediatly. Sauce hardens quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
pretty good, but pretty sweet, and they didn't seem to candy how I would have hoped, but that was probably me more then the recipe, I would definately try these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States