Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This came out delicious, I'll for sure do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by millimob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I did back off on the sugar and nutmeg by about half. The dish turned out with a nice amount of sweetness and was rated as fantastic by Christmas dinner quests. Will do this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Wonderfully sweet and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Watseka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
For the most part, I followed this recipe; however, I did incorporate some changes. First, I peeled, sliced, and boiled the sweet potatoes until they were tender, but not falling apart. Second, while the potatoes were boiling, I cooked the sugar mixture in a pan on the stove (btw, I DOUBLED the sugar mixture - my family likes SWEET potatoes). When the potatoes were finished boiling, I drained them and placed them in a metal sheet pan and poured the sugar mixture over them. Next, I covered the pan with aluminum foil and let it sit for a few hours so that the potatoes could absorb the sugar mixture. Then, I baked the dish on 350 for 20 minutes, removed the foil and poured some marshmallows on top, put the dish back in the oven and set it to broil 400 for five minutes. It was a HIT at Thanksgiving so I'm making again for Christmas. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilo8611

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Marlboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I always get compliments on these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I used canola oil and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Followed the advice of a few of the others cut the sugar in 1/2. (1/2 white, 1/2 light brown), sliced thick. These were absolutely delicious! This will probably replace my sweet potato bake for the next few holidays. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
These are yummy although I prefer my sweet potatoes in casserole form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I made this last Thanksgiving and my family loved it. I will be making again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armishia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Union City, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly.....very easy and so tasty. I've always made the same sweet potato dish and decided to change it up a bit for today's Thanksgiving dinner at my family's. Everyone absolutely loved it. Will definitely become part of my "turkey dinner" repertoire! Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States