Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
These sweet potatoes were, by far, the best I ever had! They were extremely easy to make and everyone loved them! My mother-in-law was even impressed! She actually suggested not having them for Thanksgiving because she said nobody ever ate them...well, guess what, everyone ate mine!!! I did sub 1/4 of the sugar with brown sugar, but other than that followed to scale! YUM YUM YUM! Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I made these on Thanksgiving. Since the majority of my family are not fond of sweet potatoes, I scaled the recipe down to 4 servings. I thought that they were pretty good. My kids wouldn't touch them...but they are picky. They were very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
Turned out great! I didn't have trouble with burning at all, in fact I think I was being over cautious b/c I had to turn up the heat to thicken the sauce and cook the potatoes slices more. And you would not believe how easy it is to forget the vanilla!! Still turns out great nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
First time I ever made sweet potatoes, and everyone thought they were delicious. I found, though, that at the end of my hour, the sauce was not carmelized but very liquid, so I removed the potatoes, as they were fully cooked, and simmered the remaining liquid with the cover removed til it carmelized and then poured it back over my potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Each Thanksgiving I search for the recipe that will satisfiy my husbands desire for candied sweet potatoes. This year with this recipe he said I'm getting close, but the "candied" portion was "syrup" and not thick. He did say they were tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
This was terrific. Made for Thanksgiving. Even those in the group that didn't like sweet potatoes took second servings. I cooked ahead of time and then put in a casserole dish for a half hour on low temp during the last minutes of the turkey. That way was able to enjoy happy hour with family instead of slaving over the stove!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Nice change from the way too sugary marshmellow stuff!!!! This focuses much more on the sweet potato flavor and is not super sugary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
This was the best tasting recipie for sweet potatoes. My husband and children loved them and I have never been able to get them to eat sweet potatoes before. This has become a regular dish for our house hold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
do you steam/boil the potatoes first? are they yams (orange) or sweet potatoes (white)?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
Excellent side dish. My whole family loved them. Didn't have nutmeg so used allspice instead. If you like soft potatoes like us, slice thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States