Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
These are fabulous! I used half brown sugar. I also added crushed pecans and a few mini marshmellows right at the end becuase my husband wont eat sweet potatoes w/o them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Excellent recipe! Much easier than the way I made them in the past. I needed a large dutch oven sized pot to cook six sweet potatoes though. I left them in large chunks so they wouldn't disintigrate while cooking. The addition of vanilla is awesome but my family doesn't care for cinnamon and nutmeg in their candied sweet potatoes, so I added the zest of one small orange which added a nice flavor. I've made this twice now, once with the yellow "sweet potatoes" and once with the orange "yams" (though I guess they are all technically yams, my mom swears there is difference and only buys the "sweet potatoes"). The yellow ones came out firmer, the orange yams got mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
I've made this many times and have adjusted as following: Use half brown sugar and half white sugar. Also, cut down the amount of sugar to about 1.5 cups total. Since the slices break easily, I just mash them up with a masher. This helps soak up the liquid, too. Thanks for sharing Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
Very delicious! I'm sure it's not good for you but it tastes really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
This turned out pretty well. family liked it. Added 2 Tbs more of "real" butter and a used pinch of fresh ground vanilla bean. Was rich is flavor. This is worth giving a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nedra Cohen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
This is absolutely delicious. My family could not get enough. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
very good, but a little too sweet. With less sugar, these are excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I don't know what I did wrong, but these didn't turn out the way they were supposed to. I cut the ingredient list in half as it was only my husband and I eating, but other reviewers have done this and their recipe turned out fine. The problem was that the 'sauce' just would not reduce. I cooked the potatoes with the lid on for about 30 minutes, and after that time the sauce wasn't even close to starting to reduce and the potatoes were cooked, so I removed the lid and left them for another half hour, we just ended up with a very gloopy, sticky sauce. The flavour wasn't bad (hence 3 stars), but they were VERY sweet, so I'm not sure how quick I will be to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This was really awesome! I used half brown sugar and half white sugar.It was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Excellent! Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States