Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was the only new reciped I added to my Thanksgiving dinner. It was a huge hit! I only used 3/4 of the sugar mixture and it was super sweet. The cooking time was nowhere near what the recipe stated but I sliced the potatoes relatively thin. Great recipe. Will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Everyone loved it! I did half the amount of sugar and used 1/2 brown sugar as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This was a really nice recipe. I forgot to put the vanilla in at the end and also put just 3/4 the amount of sugar (half white and half brown) as some of the previous reviews said the recipe might be too sweet. I served this to a bunch of brits that had never had Sweet Potatoes like this and it was a hit!! Oh yes, I also cooked this in the oven in a heavy cast baking pan with foil on top rather than a skillet. I cooked for about 35 minutes at 200 degrees Celsius. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedChowDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Sevenoaks, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
overly sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynbrook, New York, USA
Living In: Saint Helens, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Delicious and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Great! I made these for Thanksgiving. Everyone liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara Butler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jenison, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
These are fabulous! I used half brown sugar. I also added crushed pecans and a few mini marshmellows right at the end becuase my husband wont eat sweet potatoes w/o them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Excellent recipe! Much easier than the way I made them in the past. I needed a large dutch oven sized pot to cook six sweet potatoes though. I left them in large chunks so they wouldn't disintigrate while cooking. The addition of vanilla is awesome but my family doesn't care for cinnamon and nutmeg in their candied sweet potatoes, so I added the zest of one small orange which added a nice flavor. I've made this twice now, once with the yellow "sweet potatoes" and once with the orange "yams" (though I guess they are all technically yams, my mom swears there is difference and only buys the "sweet potatoes"). The yellow ones came out firmer, the orange yams got mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
I've made this many times and have adjusted as following: Use half brown sugar and half white sugar. Also, cut down the amount of sugar to about 1.5 cups total. Since the slices break easily, I just mash them up with a masher. This helps soak up the liquid, too. Thanks for sharing Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
Very delicious! I'm sure it's not good for you but it tastes really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States