Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This is the only way to make authentic southern candied sweet potatoes. My mother always boiled the sweet potatoes in the skins and always overcooked them. She would then cut them length wise and they would fall apart. When I got older a girlfriend made them this way and I've been making them like this ever since. I omit the cinnamon and use more butter. Most of the time I just layer the ingredients and dot with butter starting with butter on the bottom of a very heavy pan or pot. Calphalon always works for me or a heavy cast iron skillet with a lid. Make sure you turn the fire down real low and watch them carefully. Sweet potatoes always make their own water and with the sugar and butter you never need to add any liquid. The best recipe for sweet potatoes or yams, ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chitowncook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Very, very good. Exactly what I was looking for in candied sweet potatoes. Very sweet and rich and tasty. I used the fresh sweet potatoes in the store (the orange ones) and they really cooked up well. My only recommendation is to chunk them or slice them very thick (1/4" or thicker) because they break up too easily otherwise and the presentation is lost. I will DEFINITELY make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I made this with yams instead of sweet potatoes. I didn't have sweet potatoes. My husband and I really enjoyed these. I didn't have to cook them for an hour. Probably only 45 minutes. They were a perfect side dish for our Thanksgiving meal. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
These are awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
These are wonderful. I grew up (and still live) in the South and these are just as I remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Yum. Everyone loved these. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Very Very Good Southern Recipe. Once you have tryed it you will be very picky who cook Yams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
My family went nuts. They said these were the best I have made so far for the holidays. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mill City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Fantastic! Truly "candied" just like Grandma's. This is a really sweet dish. Not at all like the sweet potatoes you find baked with the marshmallows that people usually call "candied yams". The candying gives them a different texture. These are the real thing, just what I have been looking for! Thanks for sharing, this is a real treasure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States