Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Very easy recipe and very good. I cooked mine in the oven and used one cup of brown sugar/one cup of white sugar. I also melted the butter in a pan along with the sugar, then poured the mixture over the yams. Don't forget to add the vanilla...this really seals the deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Made this recipe today and husband said they were the best I had ever made, we always had sweet potatoe casserole before today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Awesome recipe! I usually make my candied "yams/sweet potatoes" the same way. However, I wanted to try something a little different and I'm so glad I did. This is definitely a keeper. Oh, I only used 1 cup of sugar and yams instead of sweet potatoes (all I had on hand). We re-make using sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
My search is over!!! These are just like the ones my grandmother would make!! I tried to make these last year with yams and they were very stringy and un-enjoyable. This year I found sweet potatoes. My grandmother always made them so they were hard around the edges (I don't know if she fried them 1st) but it was sooo good. I used 1 cup of brown sugar and 1 cup of white. I doubled the spices and cut the sweet potatoes in inch size pieces because it's more heart warming and pleasant if you take the time to cut them. No one wants a big bulky potato in their mouth. This dish tasted even better 5 days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Flavor was good, but there was an awful lot of liquid which I ended up cooking down. I do think the potatoes need to be cut very thick as they will fall apart if too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Made this delicious recipe for Thanksgiving. I gave it 4 stars, because it was way too much sugar. I would definitely recommend cutting down the sugar by one cup, but still used the rest of the seasonings as directed. I added some pecans as well. I will add this to my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
My family loved these! I will deefinately use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I do wish potato recipes would list the amount of potatoes in pounds rather than a number, because sizes vary so much. Before I found this recipe, I had already gotten four very large sweet potatoes (not yams) for the recipe I usually use, and they were more than enough. I wouldn't have been able fit any more than that in the skillet. The only change I made was to use one cup of brown sugar and one cup of white. The sauce did not thicken as much as I expected, but they were still very good. This is a great way to conserve oven space and have easier control over checking for doneness. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This is a great recipe. It taste just like my great grandmother use to make it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JayChef
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I must say that this is the best Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes recipe in existence. I made them a few days before Thanksgiving to test the recipe for quality and taste. I shared them with my neighbor who wasn't a big fan of candied yams. That is until now, he is begging me to make some for him for his family's Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States