Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I do wish potato recipes would list the amount of potatoes in pounds rather than a number, because sizes vary so much. Before I found this recipe, I had already gotten four very large sweet potatoes (not yams) for the recipe I usually use, and they were more than enough. I wouldn't have been able fit any more than that in the skillet. The only change I made was to use one cup of brown sugar and one cup of white. The sauce did not thicken as much as I expected, but they were still very good. This is a great way to conserve oven space and have easier control over checking for doneness. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This is a great recipe. It taste just like my great grandmother use to make it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JayChef
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I must say that this is the best Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes recipe in existence. I made them a few days before Thanksgiving to test the recipe for quality and taste. I shared them with my neighbor who wasn't a big fan of candied yams. That is until now, he is begging me to make some for him for his family's Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chrissys_cooking
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
WOW! These were great and yummy! Though they take an hour to cook, it's so easy to make, and soo worth it! The husband never wants sweet potatoes cooked any other way. He is hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrissys_cooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
VERY GOOD, I use wiley's yam spice seasoning...and I use brown sugar..I have used this recipe for years..Always Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This was great...we'd planted some sweet potatoes in the garden this year and I was scrambling to figure out what to do with them. My daugther, who swore she would NEVER eat sweet potatoes gobbled them up. One recommendation...I didn't have the hour that this recipe called for so I cut the sweet potatoes smaller. They cooked faster and it was still very good! Also, I second another reviewer they were good as leftovers too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Very sweet and yummy. Simmer (use smallest burner) so the syrup doesn't get too thick. Next time I'll chop the yams into large chunks instead of circles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I found that I can do this a lot easier when I have so many other Thanksgiving dishes to make. I put the yams or sweet potatoes in a heavy sauce pan and added one cup of water. Then added all of the ingredients on top of the potatoes. I covered the pot and put the flame on medium to low. As it slowly cooks, the flavors are absorbed into the yams/sweet potatoes. This produces more sauce that we later put on top of southern style corn bread for a late night sweet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I enjoyed. Family would have preferred with less spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
These are to "die" for. My Aunt taught me how to make them and they so wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States