Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Very sweet and yummy. Simmer (use smallest burner) so the syrup doesn't get too thick. Next time I'll chop the yams into large chunks instead of circles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I found that I can do this a lot easier when I have so many other Thanksgiving dishes to make. I put the yams or sweet potatoes in a heavy sauce pan and added one cup of water. Then added all of the ingredients on top of the potatoes. I covered the pot and put the flame on medium to low. As it slowly cooks, the flavors are absorbed into the yams/sweet potatoes. This produces more sauce that we later put on top of southern style corn bread for a late night sweet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I enjoyed. Family would have preferred with less spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
These are to "die" for. My Aunt taught me how to make them and they so wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I dont eat yams but everyone else does. Made this and they loved it. Only things i changed was no nutmeg and no vanilla. Will use this again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAYEE
Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I made these for Thanksgiving once and they were a hit. Taste just like grandma use to make. Will definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
The Best Old Fashion Recipe! I found that when cooking a lot of potatoes you might want to let them cook longer in the butter. I let them cook almost until they are tender. Once you add the sugar they candy fast. My family thought they were AMAZING!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This recipe is very good. I agree that maybe you wouldn't need quite as much syrup but it is so good. The vanilla gives it that extra special taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
i do not eat candied sweet potatoes, and neither does my family... however my husband loves them, and wanted sweet potatoes for Christmas dinner, therfore i made these, did them exactly as instructed and my family and husband truly enjoyed them, and i thought they were decent, again i am not a sweet potatoe kinda gal. But i will eat these...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graham Fam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
These were delicious! I was kind of worried about letting these simmer for so long, but they turned out great. I wouldn't go as far as to say they "candied" but still the end result was a delicuious side-dish of sweet potatoes that went really well with glazed ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States