Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
The syrup was really good but I could not get the flavor to transfuse into the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This recipe turned out perfectly. It was my first attempt at making homemade candied yams and it was definitely worth the work!!! I slightly modified the recipe by adding a tablespoon of dark brown sugar. Everyone loved them at dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Made this for Thanksgiving a few years ago and it was a hit. This year I was assigned the sweet potatoes again and was able to find the same recipe. Everyone loved them and said they were much better than the store bought kind. I used 7 large sweet potatoes, added some brown sugar in place of all white, and sliced the potatoes into large pieces to prevent breaking. They produced lots of their own liquid and took almost 2hrs on low on the stove top. Still a success in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
very good a bit sweet but very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessilala

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
A great recipe that was simple to make. I made a few revisions after reading the reviews, reducing the amount of sugar and butter, and using brown sugar instead of white. My daughter, who has never liked sweet potatoes, really enjoyed these. I will be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Excellent Recipe! I was out of maple syrup and substituted molasses instead. I also finished these up in the oven. Will definitely be preparing these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mabelvale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
These are awesome. I have a friend who is a chef and said these were the best sweet potatoes she has ever had. 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Very easy recipe and very good. I cooked mine in the oven and used one cup of brown sugar/one cup of white sugar. I also melted the butter in a pan along with the sugar, then poured the mixture over the yams. Don't forget to add the vanilla...this really seals the deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Made this recipe today and husband said they were the best I had ever made, we always had sweet potatoe casserole before today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Awesome recipe! I usually make my candied "yams/sweet potatoes" the same way. However, I wanted to try something a little different and I'm so glad I did. This is definitely a keeper. Oh, I only used 1 cup of sugar and yams instead of sweet potatoes (all I had on hand). We re-make using sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States