Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Cooked the potatoes halfway through, then did the mixture, coated and finished cooking them with half the butter/sugar. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessenia Ortega

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I adjusted the serving to only three and they still turned out absolutely amazing! I love sweet potatoes and always looking for new recipes. Loved this one. Saving it for sure to my recipe box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This dish was simple and perfect. My family and I love sweet potatoes. But a lot of time they would purchase the canned sweet pirates and prep that way. I'm actually making a second batches because the first was devoured in one day. I chose to omit the nutmeg and use 1 cup brown and 1 cup white sugar as previous review. #Delish definitely a staple side dish for our family holidays. Thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Loved this recipe! Made it for my family Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! I was even surprised it turned out so tasty. I was fearful of having my potatoes crumble or be underdone, so I did stick with my usual method of washing and boiling the potatoes first. I monitor them by pricking with a fork for doneness. I cook a lot at a time, so softer ones get used for pies since they will be mashed anyway and the firmer ones I use for the recipe. Boiling first means once they cool, I can peel almost all of them by hand, the skin raises up and just comes right off. It's stickier, but easier than peeling raw. I used half sugar and half dark brown sugar like some of the other comments. I put the sliced potatoes in a baking dish, poured a little of the melted butted over them, the rest of the butter went into the sugar mixtures. I then gently incorporated the sugar butter mixture into the potatoes so that they were covered but not handling them too much so they wouldn't break up. I then covered with foil and put them in a 350 oven. I'm not sure of timing, maybe half hour then I uncovered for nother half hour or so. Mostly I just "eyeballed" it. I removed when the sugar was brown and bubbly. There may be small clumps of unmelted sugar coating, but it makes a nice addition and texture. This is especially good if you have to heat it in the microwave because it will then melt down more. I love vanilla, but forgot it! No problem...these are sweet and flavorful. My new go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Love this recipe!! I mash the sweet potatoes after the dish is complete, Also I use brown sugar instead of white....SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyZee1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
The kids (2,2,4) loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Lang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
My husband and I both love this sweet potato recipe! It is pretty easy to make, except I struggle when cutting the potatoes! I prefer to replace about half of the regular sugar for brown sugar (or at least add 2 Tbsp of brown sugar to original amount of sugar)! I haven't tried it yet but think it would cool well in the crockpot as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made this recipe on Sunday and it was a slam dunk for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Wicks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Great taste, like my mom used to make! Yummy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Loved the end result, though I did use others' advice and cut the sugar down a bit, also swapping in brown sugar, rather than white. I hate peeling hard sweet potatoes, so I microwaved first to slightly soften and peel. This made the cooking time much shorter. We did not have any leftovers, but this was a bit like a dessert, rather than a veggie side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States