Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
Very delicious! I'm sure it's not good for you but it tastes really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
This turned out pretty well. family liked it. Added 2 Tbs more of "real" butter and a used pinch of fresh ground vanilla bean. Was rich is flavor. This is worth giving a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenwarriorprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
This is absolutely delicious. My family could not get enough. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
very good, but a little too sweet. With less sugar, these are excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I don't know what I did wrong, but these didn't turn out the way they were supposed to. I cut the ingredient list in half as it was only my husband and I eating, but other reviewers have done this and their recipe turned out fine. The problem was that the 'sauce' just would not reduce. I cooked the potatoes with the lid on for about 30 minutes, and after that time the sauce wasn't even close to starting to reduce and the potatoes were cooked, so I removed the lid and left them for another half hour, we just ended up with a very gloopy, sticky sauce. The flavour wasn't bad (hence 3 stars), but they were VERY sweet, so I'm not sure how quick I will be to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This was really awesome! I used half brown sugar and half white sugar.It was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Excellent! Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
These sweet potatoes were, by far, the best I ever had! They were extremely easy to make and everyone loved them! My mother-in-law was even impressed! She actually suggested not having them for Thanksgiving because she said nobody ever ate them...well, guess what, everyone ate mine!!! I did sub 1/4 of the sugar with brown sugar, but other than that followed to scale! YUM YUM YUM! Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I made these on Thanksgiving. Since the majority of my family are not fond of sweet potatoes, I scaled the recipe down to 4 servings. I thought that they were pretty good. My kids wouldn't touch them...but they are picky. They were very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
Turned out great! I didn't have trouble with burning at all, in fact I think I was being over cautious b/c I had to turn up the heat to thicken the sauce and cook the potatoes slices more. And you would not believe how easy it is to forget the vanilla!! Still turns out great nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States