Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
These came out great. I have a friend who is from St. Louis and he said they were great. A definite keeper. And, boy does this smell good while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandySweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victoria Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I finally beat my mother-in-law at one of her best dishes & she admitted that they were better than hers...YES!!! I love firm potatoes so I didnt let them cook as long...about 35-45 mins...test with a fork...but these were so awesome... super buttery n sweet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizleo
Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
My Hubster loved these! I'm partial to savory side dishes, but this gooey & sweet dish was a pretty tasty side as part of our Thanksgiving dinner. Didn't change a thing about the recipe and were happy with the results! They certainly are candied! Thanks for the recipe! We'll make it again with the next turkey! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
If you want more of a candied yam where they almost look fried around the edges, then reduce the amount of sugar and butter. Too much sauce drowns the potatoes and they overcook in too much sauce and start falling apart, become liquidy and mushy. So many recipes call for too much liquid, reduce by half and make sure to cook your butter and sugar first for carmelization, then add your potatoes. Make sure there is just enough sauce on the bottom of the potatoes and NOT half way up. Then they become candied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Just made this tonight for an after dinner dessert. Very good taste and the texture was terrific. I loved how the edges became like a toffee. I had to cook it for about 2 hours before I got the results the recipe was calling for. But that's okay, it was worth the wait and more importantly, my critics (my kids) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Skunkee
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Easy recipe - Turned out perfect. I did change a few minor things. I reduced to white sugar to 1 1/2 cups and added a 1/2 cup brown sugar. I did not add the vanilla because the taste did not seem to need it. I cooked these in the old southern tradition by using an iron skillet. It made the presentation look appetizing. This goes in my recipe box as a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skunkee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I made this recipe for my family and they loved it. I must admit I was a little nervous about trying this recipe, but I am so happy that I did. We liked it so much that I will make it again for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Made this for a big family dinner on Christmas. It got rave reviews! I did add about 2 tbsp of brown sugar. This is definitely on my holiday meal keeper list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was an excellent recipe. I did not find it to be a lot of work, except for the peeling and cutting of the potatoes. I did make a few changes. I used brown instead of white sugar. I also melted the butter in the microwave and hand tossed it with the potatoes in a large bowl to make sure they were well coated before placing them in an electric skillet and sprinkling them with the sugar mixture. Once the sugar and butter melted together to make the sauce(set at 300 degrees), I turned the skillet to WARM and cooked them covered that way for the hour,stirring them a few times to ensure they were well coated with the sauce. Absolutely divine and held their shape and texture just fine. The sauce can look a little loose, but thickens upon standing. Also, you can take the potatoes out of the skillet, then pour however much or little of the sauce you prefer over them. This one will go into my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Castelluccio Ulery

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stansbury Park, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This is similar to how my mother-in-law taught me to make sweet potatoes. The first time I made candied yams, I selected this recipe as a guide because the proportions were dead on to what I remembered my mother-in-law telling me. We do this differently by using brown sugar or a mix of brown sugar and white sugar. We also add the sugar to the melted butter at low heat and stir to make a caramelized sauce. Be careful not to burn the sugar. Also, don't remove the mixture from the heat for too long (the sugar will get hard and your sauce will be lumpy). When the sauce has caramelized, add the potatoes. If the sauce sizzles when adding the potatoes, its too hot, reduce the heat and continue to stir. Otherwise, keep adding the potatoes and stir for a few more minutes as the water from the potatoes thins out the sauce. Then just let the potatoes simmer in the sauce at low heat until done. This recipe is good, but I think these changes make it a 5 star, although it is a little more work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States