Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
These are so good! I've tried other sweet potato recipes but this one is certainly a keeper. I omitted the nutmeg because I didn't have any but the end result was still fantastic. I received lots of great comments on this dish Christmas day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
This one is a winner everytime. My 4 year old requests it on a regular basis. I normally end up serving this as a dessert. Everyone praises this dish and say they never knew sweet potatoes could taste so good. Definitely 5 stars all the way for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This was absolutely delicious and so easy. I've been trying different recipies for 25 years., this is the winner. I used 1 1/2 cups white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. My kitchen smells wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner and my in-laws raved about it! Both of their Grandmothers used to make this when they were kids. It does take a long time to cook but it makes your house smell wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
I made this for Christmas and everyone commented on how it was the best candied yams they have ever tasted. I was very proud. I added one more stick of butter. Hey, it was Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
I've made this a few times already...everyone loves it! These are not like those candied yam recipes where they are just topped with a lot of sweet stuff and marshmallows and baked. These are simmered so the flavor is tasted throughout the whole sweet potato. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
I loved it, my family loved it, this is a great recipe for when you have a bunch of people around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
This took a lot longer to cook on my stove but worth the effort. I cut the recipe in half and it was more than enough for the six of us. A classic, yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
Delicious!!! Don't change this recipe one bit :) Wonderful as is--without omitting or adding ingredients. Note--the smaller you cut the potatoes, the quicker it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I have to tell you, after years of eating sweet potatoes/yams out of a can..I have found a recipe that is easy, fast, and tasty. I served them at Christmas dinner and everyone could not get enough. My husband loved them so much, I am going to make it again this week! Excellent recipe, Pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States