Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
Im orgionaly from Texas and this has been in the family for generations. Try adding 1tblspoon of Brown sugar for every 3 sweetpotatoes used.. it adds a nice warmness to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
I tried this recipe for the first time this Thanksgiving and my family loved it. It's easy to prepare and it's is absolutely the best candied sweet potato dish I've had. Thanks for sharing the recipe - it's in it's way to becoming a holiday tradition!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This dish was very delicious but extremely runny. I took this dish to a family gathering and everyone raved over the flavor, but like I said, it is extremely runny. I even tried broiling for a few minutes but it never carmalized like it was supposed to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner and my in-laws raved about it! Both of their Grandmothers used to make this when they were kids. It does take a long time to cook but it makes your house smell wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
I made this for Christmas and everyone commented on how it was the best candied yams they have ever tasted. I was very proud. I added one more stick of butter. Hey, it was Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
I've made this a few times already...everyone loves it! These are not like those candied yam recipes where they are just topped with a lot of sweet stuff and marshmallows and baked. These are simmered so the flavor is tasted throughout the whole sweet potato. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
I loved it, my family loved it, this is a great recipe for when you have a bunch of people around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
This took a lot longer to cook on my stove but worth the effort. I cut the recipe in half and it was more than enough for the six of us. A classic, yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
This one is a winner everytime. My 4 year old requests it on a regular basis. I normally end up serving this as a dessert. Everyone praises this dish and say they never knew sweet potatoes could taste so good. Definitely 5 stars all the way for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This was absolutely delicious and so easy. I've been trying different recipies for 25 years., this is the winner. I used 1 1/2 cups white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. My kitchen smells wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States