Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I'm not a big fan of sweet potatoes so I made this for family this past Thanksgiving and OMG they still have not stopped talking about it, even my daughter who does not normally eat sweet potatoes loved it. I now have a new receipe to make every year. TYVM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Made these for Thanksgiving and they were fabulous. I did cut back a little on the nutmeg (personal preference), but other than that I made these exactly as written. This will be a regular side dish at our Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockton, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
OMG! Made them for Thanksgiving and another reviewer put them in a crockpot to save space so that's what I did....I'm telling you they where sooooo good, I always brought sweet potatoes in the can and I never would eat them because the potato did'nt taste real, I will never have to deprive myself from what I use to love. NEVER AGAIN. I added 1/2c of Brown Sugar cooked for 3hr. stirred a few time. My family loved them and everybody wanted seconds...very easy 1pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This recipe was delish!! I substituted brown sugar for the white and it came out perfect. Made these for Thanksgiving and they were a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Great recipe! We loved how they turned out. I reduced the recipe, b/c I only had 4 sweet potatoes. My 7 year old was helping me and might have added a little too much nutmeg. I forgot to add the vanilla at the end, and kept forgetting to stir it towards the end, but not stirring it made the ones on the bottom of the pan have a fried side to them. I took the potatoes out, placed them on a dish, then cranked up the heat on the sauce, when it was boiling, I drizzled it over the potatoes. YUMMY! Definatly soak your pan in soap & water immediatly. Sauce hardens quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
pretty good, but pretty sweet, and they didn't seem to candy how I would have hoped, but that was probably me more then the recipe, I would definately try these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
great recipe, sweet, easy and yummy, you can't go wrong with this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
These came out great. I have a friend who is from St. Louis and he said they were great. A definite keeper. And, boy does this smell good while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandySweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victoria Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I finally beat my mother-in-law at one of her best dishes & she admitted that they were better than hers...YES!!! I love firm potatoes so I didnt let them cook as long...about 35-45 mins...test with a fork...but these were so awesome... super buttery n sweet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizleo
Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
My Hubster loved these! I'm partial to savory side dishes, but this gooey & sweet dish was a pretty tasty side as part of our Thanksgiving dinner. Didn't change a thing about the recipe and were happy with the results! They certainly are candied! Thanks for the recipe! We'll make it again with the next turkey! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States