Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly.....very easy and so tasty. I've always made the same sweet potato dish and decided to change it up a bit for today's Thanksgiving dinner at my family's. Everyone absolutely loved it. Will definitely become part of my "turkey dinner" repertoire! Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Great!!! The way my mom use to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Rincon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I too substituted 1/2 the call for white sugar with brown sugar. I'm glad I did it too. And thank God the dish turned out to be perfect--not too sweet. Cut your sweet potatoes at least 1/3 inch thick or they are sure to break when turning them. Delicious side dish made just the way grandma used to do it,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
My family liked this much better than the casserole style sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I served these for Thanksgiving. I love sweet potatoes, but this recipe was WAY too sweet for all of us. It was more like a dessert. I would cut down on the sweetness next time. Also, the potatoes ended up a bit soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Penryn, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
my 3 yr old who is a very very picky eater , he even loves this dish , my god it was just a killer dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bernie18909
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Amazingly delicious but they take forever. Do this for you and your immediate family - making enough for more than 2 or 4 people is hugely time consuming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitschCooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Love this recipe. I do use 1 cup of brown sugar and 1 cup of white sugar other than that perfecto!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Very easy to make and came out so good! I was so happy that the syrup was not runny at all like with other recipes I have tried in the past. I added a handful of pecans while cooking. I will be making this for Christmas dinner this year! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States