Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
Wonderful recipe! Candied sweet potatoes have always been one of my favorite side dishes. I have made this dish several times now, and each time the results have been perfect. If you're big on presentation I would suggest cutting the sweet potatoes in thick slices, and be gentle while stiring. They tend to get very soft while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCOASTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
Excellent. This how sweet potatoes are supposed to be. Y'all with "southern" sweet potatoes they are supposed to be saucy, juicy or runny. So, don't try to boil or get rid of the brown sauce, if you want, just pour some or all of the sauce off. Cut the SWEET POTATOES not YAMS(looks like a sweet potato, but kind of stringy when cooking) in bigger chunks. I have eaten sweet potatoes for years and they are supposed to be SWEET, SAUCY and MUSHY or mashed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
delicious! I loved the fact that it cooked on the stove top. I did cut down on the sugar and used brown instead of white. I used about a cup of sugar instead of two. otherwise, I followed it to a tee!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Wonderful side dish! These are so much like what I enjoyed at holiday time when I was a kid in south Ga. My recommendations are: 1)Yams and sweet potatoes are NOT the same thing. Use sweet potatoes if you can find them. However ,if only yams are available, substitute and make this dish anyway, because although the taste is not the same, the result is still very very good. 2)Even though this recipe is designed to create a very sweet dish, it calls for more sugar than is necessary. I start with HALF of the sugar and ALL of the spices. As the sweet potatoes cook, I taste and add more sugar as needed, and I usually only add a tablespoon or two. 3) Make sure to turn the sweet potatoes about every fifteen minutes, to coat them well on both sides. As they cook, they become very tender, so be careful in turning them because they will easily fall apart. This does not affect the taste, but it does affect the presentation. This is also a good reason to cut the sweet potatoes at least 1/3" thick-- the thinner they are, the more likely they are to break. 4) Try to remember to add the vanilla at the end. I forget so often, and the dish is still very nice, but the vanilla adds alot. I've dealt with my forgetfulness by leaving one vanilla bean out on the counter, and I'll throw it in the pan sometime during the last 10-30 minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
This was an easy break from regular Russet Potatoes. The only thing I would have done different was to slice the potatoes a little thicker. I used the side of a grater and they were too thin. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coleen Elkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
excellent! Made them for Thanksgiving, and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
VERY VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
I saw another reviewer say that after it was done...didn't want to make again because of the work. I had the complete opposite reaction. We liked these so much that I would definately do these again. Don't get me wrong, it is time consuming...but we believe they are totally worth it. Do be careful because they can burn. We found french vanilla cool whip and ate this as a dessert the next day (yum leftovers). Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
This recipe is EXCELLENT!! I made it for Thanksgiving this year and everyone loved it. I cooked it in a crockpot to save space on the stove and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I have never made sweet potatoes before, so I looked all over the site for a recipe that got rave reviews. I wasn't dissapointed in my choice. My boyfriend was whining because there weren't any little colored marshmallows, and he'd never heard of sweet potatoes cooked on top of the stove before, but when he tasted them he said they were great, much better than the last time he'd eaten them. I did substitute 1/2 cup white sugar for brown, and I ended up adding about a handful more brown sugar part way through because it wasn't thickening as much as I'd like. But after that it thickened up nicely, and was done in about an hour like promised. Great recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICYBLUEROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States