Southern California Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. I did add an extra can of tomatoes, 4 cups of tomato juice and 4 bottles of clam juice only because we like more liquid. Very good recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Tried this recipe the first time back in February or March and thought it had too many ingredients. The funny thing is I followed the recipe to the letter and was not disappointed. The flavor is complex and many of the ingredients very subtle. We just made this recipe again recently for guests. They already liked my cooking but now they think I should "Go Pro". Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pundragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This is an excellent basic recipe, which I would assess at 4 1/2 stars, if I could. I cannot, however, give it a full five stars, because I found it to be rather blandly spiced. That surprised me, particularly as it's said to be inspired by the flavors of the southwest. No problem, though. After tasting the finished result (made according to recipe amounts), I just doubled the amounts of cayenne and chili, while also adding about a tsp. of our favorite seafood blackening spice mix, and a liberal grinding of black pepper. The result was terrific -- not over-the-top spicy, but it had that definite kick to it that my family loves. Over-all, this is certainly a "keeper" recipe and we all look forward to savoring it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I have made this several times and everyone loves it and there are no leftovers. I make it for 4 and with all the seafood 6 can eat very well. One of my favorite recipes and the whole kitchen smells so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Too much vegtables. Its like taking a Ciappino and turning in to an ordinary seafood stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Very Very Good. I live in Northern California where Cioppino is king. This version is as good as any I've had. Thanks Becky for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ebony :)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Made this as a second main entree for our Thanksgiving dinner, and it was an ABSOLUTE DELIGHT!! :D I added a little bit more red pepper, some paprika, and tomatoe juice (V8) for a more soupy broth, which went perfect. Honestly, it is HARD to go wrong with this recipe! Very easy to prepare and Very easy to enjoy as well :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ebony :)

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Excellent! I made this with just the crab meat and halibut and used all fresh herbs. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPFSTAPF
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Lover-Sue
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Thanks for the recipe Becky. I have always wanted to make a Cioppino for my husband. We had family over and the Cioppino was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Lover-Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Cioppino

See how to make San Francisco's famous seafood stew!

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States