Southern Cabbage for the Pressure Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kristina
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Super easy! I think it took even less time to make. I also added some summer sausage to it and it just added to the flavor. I am really liking the pressure cooker to make quick meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Loved it. I had already chopped and was sauteeing garlic before I looked up recipe ideas. But other than the addition of the garlic, I followed this recipe and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I love this recipe on the stove so of course I wanted to try in in the pressure cooker. I skipped the bacon because I didn't have any. I usually add garlic, onions and crushed red pepper to mine though. I only used one cup of chicken broth and it came out without excess liquid which was perfect and just like when it's made on the stove. I don't ever add salt when I am cooking, so when it goes to the table everyone can add their own level of saltiness. I'm happy to make it in the pressure cooker and get rid of the oil when it's made on the stove and then add butter when it's on my plate. Now I can just sprinkle with salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARLYBARBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Morris, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This was fantastic! I added garlic and sausage to the recipe and cut back on the butter and added no salt. I would make this again and we are not cabbage eaters. The pressure cooker allows fast nutritious suppers and this had few ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Loved this recipe. I added beef sausage instead of bacon and I added 2 tablespoons of worchestire sauce. I also only used cup of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
EASY & oh so yummy! I did substitute smoked sausage for the bacon & browned 3 mins. each side with some butter, garlic & a few dashes of Worcester Sauce. Added my chopped cabbage & only 1 cup of stock. I also quartered a few red potatoes lightly seasoned with kosher salt & added them to my PC steamer basket. Served up with allrecipes' Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread! HUGE hit with my hubby! Thanks EyeSpy for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
By far my favorite cabbage recipe EVER! I generally brown a little spicy sausage in the open pressure cooker and then add the other ingredients... but I don't add butter since I use the drippings from the sausage. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Don't you love no brainers!! I made this a one pot meal. I used garlic, 2 bay leaves, carrots, onions, potatoes, leftover ham & cabbage and of course home made chicken broth. I also make my broth in PC using rotisserie chicken carcasses. Rotisserie ckns make a much more flavorful broth. This makes a great one pot meal in 6 minutes. I also make this with smoked polish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was an excellent recipe. Super easy. I should have only used one cup of chicken broth though. Next time I will make it with sausage like others have done. I am a new pressure cooker user & I appreciate the detailed instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I left out the bacon and used only 1 cup of chicken broth. I also cooked this stovetop. The taste is great. Next time I will cook it in a pressure cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simple

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States