Southern Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Leave out the sugar! The only change that's needed and it's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Came out extremely runny. Followed the recipe to the t, however omitting the topping. The mush was also extremely sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Great, my daughter (who does not care for squash) enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
It didnt cook in 30-45 minutes @ 350°F, so the second batch I cooked @ 400°F for an hour. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This was AMAZING! The one thing I learned is to not blend with a mixer. Blend it by hand with a spoon so that it's nice & think rather than baby food texture. :D Absolutely wonderful! I made a double batch of it for Thanksgiving & love it so much that I used the rest of my squash to make us a batch of it for dinner tonight! :D Oh, and it was so good without the topping that I didn't even bother with that, although I know it would be even more amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This is one of the recipes that people request that I bring on holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Perfect just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Middletown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
My family refuses to eat squash...until I made this and didn't tell them it was butternut squash. It's very much like the sweet potato casseroles all southerners are familiar with. Leave out the sugar and cream and just put a whole can of sweetened condensed milk instead. I did add about 1/4 cup brown sugar and a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg. I also used ground flax seed in the topping in place of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Incredibly yummy! Even good cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oggywoggy3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
My whole family LOVED this dish on thanskgiving. I put less sugar, used regular milk instead of condensed, and i used lite cream instead of heavy. I added a few cranberries too since i had them leftover from some other dishes. I'm making some again tonite since I want more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States