Southern Butter Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I heated my water to about 105 degrees. These tasted great and were really easy. mine weren't as fat as I would have liked, but I'm sure that's personal error, not the fault of the recipe- so I'm rating it five even though mine weren't very attractive. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
My kids loved this rolls and I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
These were my first attempt at baking with yeast. I followed a friend's advice and mixed the yeast and water together first, rather than putting it in the flour, etc. These turned out a little dense, which might be my fault, since I'm inexperienced with bread. And, because I had a blond moment and read two "tablespoons" rather than teaspoons for the salt, they were really salty. But that's my fault, not the recipe. I'm sure they'd taste better with someone else making them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grafton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
These were a hit at Thanksgiving! SUPER easy to make, and very tasty! I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Higginbotham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I made these Southern Butter Rolls along with the Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup from this site. These are a wonderful yeasty roll.I was suprized at how well they came out.I think they are as good today as they were yesterday. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I reviewed these rolls last year when I made them for thanksgiving, but at that time I made a few changes. This time I made them as the recipe called for and they turned out even better. The only change I stayed with was the butter flavored shortening. I made some into regular dinner rolls and some into hamburger buns. next I might try a loaf of bread. This will probably be my go to recipe for bread making. i do use this recipe for just about everything. ESPECIALLY hamburger buns. just shape them into rolls about 2/3 the size of what you want your buns to be and spray with water, sprinkle with sesame seeds, and let rise for another 45 min to an hour. I had to bake mine a little longer than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pnutmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This was the first time I've ever made rolls and I made them for thanksgiving and used the advice of one reviewer about melting the shortening. They came out wonderful and teasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Like Kiss-the-Cook, I agree that these are good but not memorable. I did some procedure adjustments per the excellent suggestions of Tunisianswife, and the texture was light and chewy inside, just not quite enough flavor for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Tasty just after baking, though not quite sweet enough. Do not recommend making full batch as these biscuits are not that great the next day. Still a really easy recipe (heat the water by the way to approx. 110 degrees before using) that is hard to mess up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouperWoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This recipe isn't bad, but not memorable. My family ate them, but didn't rave. Baking at 400 was a little too hot and made the tops very dark while the middle rolls were still gooey on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States