Southern Butter Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
This is a great recipe and deserves five stars with the exception of the directions. I, like some of the others, proofed the yeast first, and in warm water with a tablespoon of the recommended sugar first. Other than that, the rolls came out great !! Wonderful job, Maria ! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnielee Saccucci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swansea, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I made these for the first time today, and the whole family loved them! I used the bread machine dough cycle- warmed the water and added yeast and sugar to the pan first, letting it sit a few minutes. Then I added the remaining ingredients, melting the butter (which I used for the shortening). The dough almost rose over the pan, so be cautious of that. The dough itself worked so nicely. I baked them on a cookie sheet- I think they would cook nicely in a 9x13 as well (to make them a little taller, and soft around the bottom half of the roll instead of crusty). I brushed a little butter over the tops of the rolls as soon as they came out of the oven. The result was a nice, soft, tasty dinner roll. Following another reviewer's tip, I baked 1/2 of the rolls today and froze the other 1/2 for another night (thaw 2 to 2-1/2 hours, shape, let rise 45 minutes, bake). We can't wait to eat them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Used butter instead of shortening. Wonderful aroma when baking and equally great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I made these,but I used bread flour,warm water,and butter instead of shortening..they were fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Groblewsky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I thought these were a little bit bland though any roll warm from the oven is delicious and these were no exception. I prefer my go-to recipe, however, that calls for butter, dry milk, and an egg. And I let my bread machine do the mixing and kneading. Also, regarding instant vs dry active yeast - I use instant for everything (so much less fussing) and adjust the directions accordingly (mix with the dry ingredients) while keeping the total volume of liquid the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
they yummy and light my family loves them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Tried it for the first time on Christmas Eve. They turned out perfect! Easiest recipe for rolls that I have tried, reminds me of my grandmother's when I was a kid. I would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by veganwitch
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
These were amazing! I sub'd Earth Balance for the shortening and used organic sugar. They were an incredible addition to our vegan thanksgiving! Also, I let my bread machine handle the kneading/rising process since I was busy making other dishes that day. It worked like a dream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veganwitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Allentown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Delicious. Can the dough be saved for a later date?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Love these. We did have to try three times before they turned out right. You have to proof the yeast in 105* water with a bit of sugar till it foams. When they did finally work it there wonderful. Making them tonight for thanksgiving tomorrow. Warm up great in the oven and my fiance even made chicken sandwiches with them. This time useing honey instead of sugar cant wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States