Southern Butter Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This is by far the best bun recipe I have found on this site. They are light and so very easy to make. I will definitely be making these again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Fantastic! I warmed the water with the butter flavored shortening. I also used my bread machine on the dough setting for the kneading and rising. I got 15 rolls in a 9x13 pan.Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
just made these again and added a little extra sugar and turned the dough into cinnamon rolls! The best I've tried yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miskyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This was another recipe I really wanted to like, and maybe need to give it another try, as another reviewer here suggested. It got such fantastic reviews, and I followed the recipe to a "T", but ultimately the rolls were dry and hard. Decent flavor, sub-par texture. I wanted the light, fluffy texture most others were raving about! Any suggestions would be most appreciated...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
i made 18 thinking that i would make some for dinner and then lunch the next day.... not one was left and everyone asked for more! quick tip: i didnt knead for 20 but i rise the dough in a preheated oven that i had turned off
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Made exactly as recipe states these rolls are light and airy. Lovely golden brown tops. Definitely will be my go-to for dinner rolls. Will be using another reviewers idea for wheat rolls as well. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I made these as the recipe is written and will make these again and again. I have been looking for a new good recipe for dinner rolls and this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Awesome! I made mine slightly more dense because I skipped the shortening completely and subbed for 1/4 cup of canola oil... the shortening is not healthy enough for us and the canola oil worked out fine. I also baked for 12 minutes on 350 and they were completely done.. maybe my oven is just quick. I brushed the top of the rolls with margarine. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinLiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I did not having any shortening so I used butter and I placed these in a muffin pan and they came out perfect!! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Just an ordinary dinner roll, don't see what is so specail about them. With a little bit of extra spices and some butter on them I think they would be much better. Maybe some italian seasonings an some parm cheese would be nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Virginia, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States