Southern Butter Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
very good! I let my kitchen aid machine do all the kneading for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
These are the best!! used my bread machine to do the work once done rolled and cut then placed in the oven.they are now over a week old and still great So good I use the recipe for my pizza dough Excellent for pizza crust. I am now trying this for a loaf of bread as I write. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Perfect! Made them exactly as the recipe instructs and all 24 of them were gone in one night! They were eaten by everyone as snacks and we had them with homemade spaghetti...they probably would have eaten them for breakfast if there had been any left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
VERY good!!!! I just added all the ingredients into my bread machine and ran the dough cycle. Then I shaped them into balls & put half on a cookie sheet and the other half in a spring form pan. Then I preheated the oven to 200, turned the oven off & put the rolls in the oven for their 45 minutes proofing. After that, I preheated to 400 and kept to regular directions. The ones in the spring form were even better we thought. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mctmagill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
These were good, but mine didn't really rise... probably because my kitchen was too cold. I'll try again.... I did like the flavor but I think they were too dense (again, probably because they didn't rise).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erinmoo526

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Really didn't do anything for me. I needed a quick and fairly easy recipe to make for Christmas Eve dinner and these seemed to fit the bill but they really weren't anything spectacular. I probably won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made these with Christmas dinner and they all disappeared. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I knew this recipe was good because it is the roll recipe my sister always uses. I had to make it twice to get it right, but the second time gave me great results. I used the amount of salt called for the first time I made them, and found them way too salty. The second time I made them, I cut back to 1 1/2 teaspoons of salt. I also subbed butter for the shortening (and my sister usually uses canola oil). I also used warm water instead of cold water in the recipe to save on rising time. My husband and youngest daughter really liked them (as did I)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These we so delicious! The Boyfriend loved them so much that he requested that these be the new staple roll recipe around the house. The only alteration I did was swapping the shortening for margarine and it still turned our great. Will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcn5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Excellent! Made these for Thanksgiving. Was told these would do my granny proud. A great traditional roll. Easy to make, delicious to eat. We buttered the tops when almost down baking for a golden crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States