Southern Butter Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I could not give it 5 stars because I changed it a little. I proofed my yeast w/ 100 degree water and a tablespoon of the sugar first, to make sure it was not dead. And I substituted butter for the shortening, just because I don't like the flavor shortening leaves in your mouth. With my adjustments they came out great, even gave some to the neighbor we had so many. Tonight I am going to try to make these as buns for philly steaks. Will let you know how they come out for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
These are exactly the kind of butter rolls I was looking for. I will make these regularly now. I'm thinking that one possible reason some people had trouble with these not coming out fluffy is that, unlike most bread recipes, the yeast in this is measured in *table*spoons, not teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Sorry, but this recipe was a disappointment. I have a couple of very fine roll recipes and I have been using them for years, but on a whim, I decided to try this one. First of all, why does it ask you to add cold water to the flour and yeast mixture? Unless you were to place the bowl in a very warm place, the yeast cannot do what it needs to do in 1 hour. But, I followed the instructions. Also, 2 and 1/2 teaspoons of salt is too much for that amount of flour. (in my opinion). After shaping them into rolls and letting them rise for 45 minutes, I baked them as instructed hoping they would rise more once they where put into the oven. They didn't. The texture was course and even though I use bread flour, the color wasn't creamy. I will slice and make croutons of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
This is a great recipe and deserves five stars with the exception of the directions. I, like some of the others, proofed the yeast first, and in warm water with a tablespoon of the recommended sugar first. Other than that, the rolls came out great !! Wonderful job, Maria ! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnielee Saccucci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swansea, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I made these for the first time today, and the whole family loved them! I used the bread machine dough cycle- warmed the water and added yeast and sugar to the pan first, letting it sit a few minutes. Then I added the remaining ingredients, melting the butter (which I used for the shortening). The dough almost rose over the pan, so be cautious of that. The dough itself worked so nicely. I baked them on a cookie sheet- I think they would cook nicely in a 9x13 as well (to make them a little taller, and soft around the bottom half of the roll instead of crusty). I brushed a little butter over the tops of the rolls as soon as they came out of the oven. The result was a nice, soft, tasty dinner roll. Following another reviewer's tip, I baked 1/2 of the rolls today and froze the other 1/2 for another night (thaw 2 to 2-1/2 hours, shape, let rise 45 minutes, bake). We can't wait to eat them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Used butter instead of shortening. Wonderful aroma when baking and equally great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I made these,but I used bread flour,warm water,and butter instead of shortening..they were fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Groblewsky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I thought these were a little bit bland though any roll warm from the oven is delicious and these were no exception. I prefer my go-to recipe, however, that calls for butter, dry milk, and an egg. And I let my bread machine do the mixing and kneading. Also, regarding instant vs dry active yeast - I use instant for everything (so much less fussing) and adjust the directions accordingly (mix with the dry ingredients) while keeping the total volume of liquid the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
they yummy and light my family loves them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Tried it for the first time on Christmas Eve. They turned out perfect! Easiest recipe for rolls that I have tried, reminds me of my grandmother's when I was a kid. I would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States