Southern Butter Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Good, very basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcook45

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Really nice soft n tasty rolls! I proofed my yeast in warm water with sugar. I used kitchen aid mixer to mix(dry ingredients n shortening) n knead (6 mins). I used 1 cup of milk and 1/2 cup of water( proofing yeast) instead). It took longer to rise for me(first proof took 1.5 hr/2nd proof 45 mins). I baked it for 12 mins at 400c. nice brown tops n soft fluffy rolls all the way thru. I did finsh them off with a brush of melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Turned out perfectly. Used warm water as it just makes sense. I also subbed softened butter for the shortening. Brushed the tops with melted butter before baking. Baked at 375 for 15 minutes. Made 15 nice sized rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LibertyBelle78
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Every year our family Thanksgiving dinner is complimented by a big bag of rolls from a warehouse club. This has got to stop, but I thought I was powerless to help, since it's out of state for us and there's no kitchen space available at our destination. On a whim I made a batch of these and hid a few in a Ziploc bag. Of course my husband loved them when they were fresh, but I just fed him one that was about 36 hours old....and he still loved it! In my ideal world I would be serving rolls fresh from the oven to impress the family at Thanksgiving, but since that is impossible, I believe I am going to bake these at home and bring them along. Friends don't let friends eat dry hard bread with a holiday meal, right? The only slight change I made was to use warm water for my yeast instead of cool water. And I use Butter Flavored Crisco shortening. That's my 'secret ingredient' for a lot of my baking. Thanks for a simple and fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
i have 2 questions. i use bulk yeast what is the measure by teaspoon instead of the package..and i never can get my bread or rolls light and fluffy, mine are always heavy and tough.. am i not kneading enough or what.. please help me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Rowan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I was afraid The rolls would not rise after following instructions with cold water. I didn't read reviews until I had already mixed the dough. I used a stand mixer for a few minutes to knead and save me some time. (I was looking for a bread roll recipe that I could use every week without a lot of fuss.) My rolls did rise and they came out good, just not great enough to make this my recipe. I think most people used substitutions. Why are they called butter rolls if they don't have butter in the roll? -just curious. I refrigerated leftovers in a freezer bag and used them for PBJ the next day. They were okay. I followed the recipe except for using the stand mixer. Based on my experience making tortillas, you probably use cold water because you don't want the shortening to melt. But I'd say lukewarm is ok. I used cold. Also, mixing the salt and yeast together all at once was fine since it wasn't just sitting there, you mix everything and get started kneading. I did not proof my yeast (instant) and no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Dense, doughy, and totally without flavor. Followed the directions EXACTLY. During the kneeding process the dough got stiffer and flatter and more dense - they never rose at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made these exactly as written. I knew they would take longer to rise as the recipe uses cold water so I made them first thing in the morning. A slow rise allows the dough time to develop more flavor. They do take a long time so plan for the first rise to take several hours. The second rise was much faster, maybe 30 to 45 minutes. My rolls baked up golden brown, moist, light and flaky. Just a perfect dinner roll! I will be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Activated the yeast in 1/2 cup of 106 degree water & 1 teaspoon of sugar for 10 minutes. Meanwhile I melted the Crisco and stirred the sugar into it. All the sugar did not melt but that was fine. Warmed up the remaining 1 cup of water to 106. Stirred all into the dry ingr, then put the yeast mixture in last. Used my hand mixer with dough hooks for 6 minutes. 1 hour later it had risen well! Half the batch went on a sheet pan. The rest went into a muffin pan. I liked the muffin pan the best. It was uniformly brown while the sheet produced browner harder bottoms. This would make perfect bread sticks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States