Southern Butter Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I was afraid The rolls would not rise after following instructions with cold water. I didn't read reviews until I had already mixed the dough. I used a stand mixer for a few minutes to knead and save me some time. (I was looking for a bread roll recipe that I could use every week without a lot of fuss.) My rolls did rise and they came out good, just not great enough to make this my recipe. I think most people used substitutions. Why are they called butter rolls if they don't have butter in the roll? -just curious. I refrigerated leftovers in a freezer bag and used them for PBJ the next day. They were okay. I followed the recipe except for using the stand mixer. Based on my experience making tortillas, you probably use cold water because you don't want the shortening to melt. But I'd say lukewarm is ok. I used cold. Also, mixing the salt and yeast together all at once was fine since it wasn't just sitting there, you mix everything and get started kneading. I did not proof my yeast (instant) and no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Dense, doughy, and totally without flavor. Followed the directions EXACTLY. During the kneeding process the dough got stiffer and flatter and more dense - they never rose at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made these exactly as written. I knew they would take longer to rise as the recipe uses cold water so I made them first thing in the morning. A slow rise allows the dough time to develop more flavor. They do take a long time so plan for the first rise to take several hours. The second rise was much faster, maybe 30 to 45 minutes. My rolls baked up golden brown, moist, light and flaky. Just a perfect dinner roll! I will be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Activated the yeast in 1/2 cup of 106 degree water & 1 teaspoon of sugar for 10 minutes. Meanwhile I melted the Crisco and stirred the sugar into it. All the sugar did not melt but that was fine. Warmed up the remaining 1 cup of water to 106. Stirred all into the dry ingr, then put the yeast mixture in last. Used my hand mixer with dough hooks for 6 minutes. 1 hour later it had risen well! Half the batch went on a sheet pan. The rest went into a muffin pan. I liked the muffin pan the best. It was uniformly brown while the sheet produced browner harder bottoms. This would make perfect bread sticks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I halved the recipe and subbed in butter for the shortening. I made three long rolls for meatball subs. The rolls were very good and deliciously soft. They didn't fall apart with the meatballs, sauce, and cheese on them, although we ate our sandwiches right away. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Fabulous! These rolls are Wonderful!! They bake up nicely light and very fluffy!! doesnt get any easier then these! Love Them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I could not give it 5 stars because I changed it a little. I proofed my yeast w/ 100 degree water and a tablespoon of the sugar first, to make sure it was not dead. And I substituted butter for the shortening, just because I don't like the flavor shortening leaves in your mouth. With my adjustments they came out great, even gave some to the neighbor we had so many. Tonight I am going to try to make these as buns for philly steaks. Will let you know how they come out for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
These are exactly the kind of butter rolls I was looking for. I will make these regularly now. I'm thinking that one possible reason some people had trouble with these not coming out fluffy is that, unlike most bread recipes, the yeast in this is measured in *table*spoons, not teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Sorry, but this recipe was a disappointment. I have a couple of very fine roll recipes and I have been using them for years, but on a whim, I decided to try this one. First of all, why does it ask you to add cold water to the flour and yeast mixture? Unless you were to place the bowl in a very warm place, the yeast cannot do what it needs to do in 1 hour. But, I followed the instructions. Also, 2 and 1/2 teaspoons of salt is too much for that amount of flour. (in my opinion). After shaping them into rolls and letting them rise for 45 minutes, I baked them as instructed hoping they would rise more once they where put into the oven. They didn't. The texture was course and even though I use bread flour, the color wasn't creamy. I will slice and make croutons of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States