Southern Boiled Custard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Yes, in the south this is a beverage. I make this every year around the holidays, it's very traditional. My recipe only uses 4 eggs, which I beat with the sugar to dissolve prior to combining with the milk. I also add a pinch of salt & about a teaspoon of cornstarch to stabilize it-whisk it into the sugar prior to adding to the eggs. Contrary to the name, never let it boil. The protein in the eggs will coagulate and it will be grainy, or worse, lumpy. For the same reason, use only whole milk, the fat is necessary. The thin layer of foam on top of the custard will disappear as the mixture cooks, and when the texture and color are uniform throughout, the custard is ready and will "coat the spoon". Serve with a healthy dose of good bourbon. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
The recipe sounded good, but the "don't overcook" and "coats spoon" statements were vague. I don't live in a region where anyone knows what boiled custard is so this was my hope for the drink I grew up on at Christmas. After over an hour of constant stirring, it finally started to thicken enough to coat the spoon although it was splotchy. The next day I tried the chilled bev., disappointed that it was very eggy tasting and lumpy. An approximate time to cook (i.e. "It generally takes ME xxx min/hour to get the mixture to coat the spoon) would have been helpful. Also, what constitutes "coating"? Sticking to the spoon like honey, or just sticking to the spoon at all?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Cooking the mixture too high or too long or not "tempering" properly will cause it to taste like scrambled eggs. This is not a drink...it is used as an additon to a dessert or as my great aunt used to do top Jell-O. This recipe is exactly as I remember hers. Be patient with it. "Coating" the spoon means the wooden spoon looks like it has a coat on. Another words it sticks to the back of the spoon. She calls it a winter beverage (eggnog) but boiled custard is usually used as stated above. It is DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This is a nice recipe and is most definitely a drink. Those of us from the south always drink boiled custard around the holidays. I will say I had to make it twice to get it right. The first time I made scrambled egg custard which was disgusting. When the recipe says "don't over cook" that is important here. As soon as it started getting creamy I cooked it just a little longer. Its also possible to add a little cornstarch first mixed with water to give a little more creaminess. All in all it was great!!! Reminded me of home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This is similar to my mother's recipe. Excellent flavor, but a little too sweet for me. Next time I will cut down on the sugar a little, say 3/4 cup per quart of milk. I also add a pinch of corn starch to the sugar/egg mixture. The secret (or art) to getting perfect boiled custard is to heat slowly, stirring constantly (double boiler). I continued to cook about 30 minutes after the custard reached 170 degrees F. Total cooking time was about 90 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I have a friend that grew up in the south and I made this for her this Christmas; she absoutely loved it. I cooked it just a little to long but once I put it in the blender the small chunks disappeared. The one thing about this recipe is you have to be very attentive to it while it's cooking. Thats for giving me a recipe to help my freind feel like she was at home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Holm

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Defiance, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
My mother made us make this...every single year at Christmas. The difference from this recipe is rather than add vanilla, she used imitation walnut. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
OK...This is an awesome boiled custard. It is not a drink...sorry Cathy. If made correctly it is like a sauce that...like the previous reviewer you put over Jell-O or a cake. The recipe is flawless if followed corretly. I loved it...just like Grandmother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I am a 5th generation Southern woman from Mississippi and this recipe is right on it! Yes, this is a beverage of the same consistency as eggnog. Pay attention, they even sell this next to the eggnog in the beverage section. My recipe is over 150 years old and almost identical, except we add a little "cheer" to ours (burbon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Way to go, Cathy! perfect! This recipe is the basis for many favs; egg nog, all french ice creames, and my southern favorite... banana pudding! "Stir continuosly untill coats spoon" could not be more clear , or correct.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

How to Make Pour-Over Coffee

Enjoy freshly-brewed coffee, one delicious cup at a time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States