Southern Boiled Custard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
My dear Mother in Law has made this for all of the 34 years I have been in the family. My husband tells me he remembers his Grandmother making it. This is the exact recipe they both use and I now use. We add 6 marshmallows to the hot custard and stir. To serve we put whipped cream and nutmeg on top and serve with homemade teacakes. Cant imagine Christmas without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
It came out really well. I just kept stirring till it was thickened. If you don't like the "eggy" flavor I would use 4 eggs instead of 5...but everything was great and very simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This is the stuff! I've just made two batches--one with 5 eggs and one with 4 eggs. The number of eggs used is simply a matter of taste. Both batches are wonderful. I read the some reviewers had difficulty with cooked egg pieces in their custard. It's very important to carefully temper the eggs, just as one would do when making pudding. It's also recommended to strain the custard. I just used the strainer from my teapot. I placed it on the mouth of the canning jar I was using (perfect fit) and poured the custard through that strainer. Even though I was careful with the tempering of the eggs, the strainer still caught small pieces of cooked egg. I read another reviewer pours this custard over other desserts. I've only had it as a beverage (with and without bourbon), but now I'm afraid I will have to try this over some pound cake. Thanks for sharing this luscious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I loved this recipe, my grandma always made boiled custard to drink and dip angel food cake in. This was my first time trying any reciepe for boiled custard and it turned out well. Two things that I realized afterward was 1. Poor the contents out of the double boiler immediatly or it will continue to cook and get thicker than desired. 2. Other recipes that I found said to strain the custard into the desired container that you will be storing it in. There can be tiny clumps that you will not notice until you strain it. It just a way to make sure the custard is perfectly creamy. It took about 15-20 min on a little over medium heat for mine but Im sure it can vary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is bascially a thinner, whole egg version of Creme Anglaise, which is used as a dessert sauce. I don't drink this by itself (though it is tasty on it's own!) but make half the recipe and use it as a base for milkshakes. It keeps the shake nice and thick also keeps it from looking curdled when you blend in the ice cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
My mother used to make this for me and my friends joke that I never would share with them. Maybe a taste, but that's all I'd give up. This is the perfect recipe; first time I'd ever made boiled custard, and it is perfect. Thanks for giving me a taste of the past...and bringing back a memory of the good things my mother did for me, at Christmas and all year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bedford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This sounds awfully close to what I am looking for. Living in central Mississippi, I grew up having Grandmother's boiled custard at Christmas time. I am going to try this and surprise everone at our Christmas gathering. ( I will, however, add the orange peels like Grandmother did while cooking the custard.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I am a 5th generation Southern woman from Mississippi and this recipe is right on it! Yes, this is a beverage of the same consistency as eggnog. Pay attention, they even sell this next to the eggnog in the beverage section. My recipe is over 150 years old and almost identical, except we add a little "cheer" to ours (burbon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Tastes just like the boiled custard my family would drink after Christmas dinner. The recipe needs to include times!! It took me about 10 minutes for the custard to set using whole milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Exellent, my only change was to use half and half instead of whole milk. It made it creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

How to Make Pour-Over Coffee

Enjoy freshly-brewed coffee, one delicious cup at a time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States