Southern Boiled Custard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Great recipe. The trick is to use a thermometer . When temp of mixture reaches 270 F it is done. It will still feel thin but will thicken nicely. Also, be sure to tempura your eggs, so not to have scrambled eggs. I put my eggs in blender a slow add warmed milk and continue to add as it gets warmer , then place in mixture pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
It is indeed a drink - those who think it's not are not from the south. It's traditionally served after Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner w a lil bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mick Piercy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michael Haws
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
My mom used to make this from the time we were little until she passed. I found this recipe and it's as good or better than what she made. I was surprised that it turned out so well. Very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Haws

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Having spent my Christmases in Tennessee with family each year, I already knew how this should turn out if made correctly, the consistency should be thick (almost like a shake) which makes it the perfect counterpart to dessert hour. We drink it with pies & cookies. Tips: use only 4 eggs or it will be too eggy. Stir constantly to avoid over cooking or making it "clumpy". I used just over 1/2 cup of sugar and the flavor is perfect! Let sit and cool before putting into fridge. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This is the boiled custard I remember from my childhood in southwestern Virginia. It was easy to make and I actually reduced the yield to 4 servings. Followed the directions exactly adding the warm milk (I used Half and Half) to the egg/sugar mixture to temper the eggs then mix into the milk in double boiler. Took about 7 minutes for it to thicken but it was as smooth as silk and no eggy taste as some noted. I first thought about making this last night to pour over some almost stale coconut cake I made for Christmas party. This was used as a custard ice cream base in the summertime and over cake or fruit but I don't remember drinking it. Best to store in a glass jar or covered glass bowl but not plastic container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Oglesby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Van Wyck, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This is very similar to the recipe I use, EXCEPT ... my grandmother's recipe, which came from my grandfather's sisters in Arkansas, calls for separating the eggs. Half the sugar is mixed with the eggs, then mixed with the hot milk , and cooked for 15 minutes. The whites, the other half of the sugar, and the vanilla is beaten until stiff peaks form. When the custard is done cooking, the meringue is added and mixed in. Obviously, it is lumpy! Living in Illinois, no one has even heard of boiled custard, so I was looking for more information ... I am surprised no one else mentioned the meringue. Maybe that is just a family preference?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Thanks so much for the recipe, Cathy...just like the DRINK I used to remember. While some people seem to feel that based on their usage, it makes it a golden rule, my great-grandmother made this as a DRINK. She did not put on cake or any other dessert. If she did use it in dessert, it was part of her recipe base for homemade ice cream. She did not like eggnog and enjoyed this as a substitute. And yeah, I grew up in the South.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
When I was pregnant, I could keep nothing down. Mother made boiled custard by the quart, it was extremely comforting to my tummy, and I had a healthy, chubby baby. Last night, I tried this recipe using COCONUT MILK--not low-fat. It worked beautifully and was delicious. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I have drank boiled custard for all of my 43 years,and this is the ABSOLUTE BEST recipe for this traditional southern holiday treat. Being disappointed by Purity and Goldenrod store bought custard, I started making boiled custard a few years ago and now this is the only way I will drink it. I cut out 1 egg and added just a pinch of corn starch,then followed the directions and had finished custard after 45 minutes over medium lo heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good Eats

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I did not have my glasses om I really thought I was making a custard to eat so now I added nutmeg just a pinch I wanted to surprise my King for our Anniversary tonight he always goes to the store and pick vanilla custard and never satisfied but ill try again with my eyeglasses
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Camden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

How to Make Pour-Over Coffee

Enjoy freshly-brewed coffee, one delicious cup at a time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States