Southern Biscuits with Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This is a very good biscuit. The flavor is excellent, it is easy to make, takes very little time, and if it has a flaw it is that they did not rise quite as much as I would like...which may improve as I make them again. thank you for sharing this great biscuit recipe. First good scratch biscuits I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
This recipe turned out better than I could have ever hoped for! Wonderful texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
These are fantastic!! be sure not to over cook keep a close eye on them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kansasprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Douglass, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saltado
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
These biscuits were hard to mess up, in my opinion. The dough was easy to mix together and the biscuits came out soft and delicious. I did make my own self-rising flour by adding 1 tsp salt and 3 tsp baking powder to all-purpose flour. I also used an olive oil mayonnaise. Neither of those things detracted from the final product. Mine cooked a little faster than the 20 minutes. I have a convection oven and 16 minutes at 400 degrees was perfect. Thanks for introducing me to this "new" way of making biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I have just found my new biscuit recipe. I love that it does not require all the shortening, will be a lot cheaper on my budget I think especially since it requires ingredients that I always keep on hand. The only change I did was to make my own buttermilk b/c I was out of my normal dry buttermilk that I keep on hand. I just took 1 cup of whole milk added 1 tbsp of apple cider vinegar and allowed it to site 5-10 minutes. I definitely recommend this recipe. For previous reviews that stated the biscuits were hard I would suggest not playing with your dough too much. I put mine on a floured surface and did not roll I just used my hands to pat the dough 1/2 inch thick. My biscuits turned out fluffy and yummy. My family loved them there were none left. Thank you so much for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
I submitted a similar recipi,(Mayonaise Biscuits, by Georgie Brent) but I think this one is a vast improvement! Mine were drop bicuits and this recipi is for rolled and cut,and they turn out more uniform and fluffier. Bravo Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Thanks to this recipe I can make biscuits just like my grandmothers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I also agree with others, this reminds me of the biscuits my sister, grandmother and a great-grandmother used to make----but, the mayo is an addition and must make the difference as I could never get them to turn out like this recipe. Hoorah!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I have been making biscuits by this recipe since I was in elementary school and it works every time if you do it right! You need to use SELF-RISING, SOFT WHEAT flour, which is not as commonly available elsewhere as it is in the South. Good brands are White Lily or Hudson Cream -- NOT a hard wheat flour like Pillsbury,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I used melted butter instead of vegetable oil. That was the only change I made. I dropped these into greased muffin tins instead of messing with cutting them so they wouldn't have a chance to turn out tough. These turned out so good--flaky and really just........YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States